Storm Lake Middle school students selected for Iowa Opus Honor Choir

Friday, November 5, 2021

Seven Storm Lake Middle School students were recently selected for participation in the thirty-fifth annual Iowa Opus Honor Choir Festival. Over 2,200 students were nominated by their directors for 720 positions in the four Opus Honor Choirs. Selections were made by means of a recorded audition. Guest conductors of the choirs include: Nancy Ewing, LeMars Community Middle School, 5th & 6th Grade Honor Choir; David Fog, retired, 7th & 8th Grade Bass Clef Honor Choir; Cheryl Thompson, Atlantic Middle School 7th & 8th Grade Treble Clef Honor Choir; and Samantha Robillard, Pella High School, 9th Grade Mixed Honor Choir. The 2018 Opus Honor Choirs will perform at 4:00 p.m. November 18th in C.Y. Stephens Auditorium in the Iowa State Center in Ames. The Opus Honor Choir Festival is made possible by the Iowa Choral Directors Association, Inc.

Students selected from Storm Lake Middle School include: Taylor Brown, Madison Galvin, Grace Kenkel, Lyric Lah, Jacob Mills, Ana Quej Flores and Naomi Wolf Tornabane. These students are under the direction of Mrs. Jolene Schaefer.