Bishop’s Fundathon for Catholic schools: An online event, Sept. 13

Friday, September 11, 2020

The Bishop’s Fundathon for Catholic Schools will be held Sept. 13. This event is typically held as the Bishop’s Dinner for Catholic Schools; however, because of Covid-19, the diocese transformed it to a virtual event which can be accessed through their website “”

The event will be a combination of live and pre-recorded messages from schools, staff, students, award winners, clergy members, and more. Bishop Nickless will host this event, along with Superintendent of Schools, Patty Lansink and Susan O’Brien, director of stewardship and development. A detailed schedule of events is located at “”

The event will begin at 10 a.m. with a Mass celebrated by Bishop Nickless and live-streamed from the Cathedral of the Epiphany in Sioux City. After the live-stream Mass, the Fundathon will showcase the 16 Catholic school systems throughout the Diocese of Sioux City, as well as to celebrate the Excellence in Education and Good Shepherd Award winners for 2020. There will also be live special guest appearances through-out the day from faculty, staff, students, and clergy members. The event ends at 4 p.m.

The “Excellence in Education” award is presented to a teacher who has a clear, integrated philosophy of Catholic education and is a witness of his/her faith in his/her professional and personal life. The award winner is also held in high regard by peers, students, and parents.

The “Good Shepherd” award is presented to individuals who are in non-teaching positions within the school. They are nominated by their peers and selected by a committee. Recipients must meet specific qualifications such as going above the call of duty and demonstrating a true passion for their job. Nominees must be employed within the Catholic school systems in the diocese for a minimum of five years.

Excellence in Education winners for this year include: Bill Kane, Kuemper Catholic; Kate Swanson, Storm Lake St. Mary’s; Kim Phillips, Remsen St. Mary’s; and Mary Kurth, Gehlen Catholic.

Good Shepherd Award winners include: Amy Seuntjens, Danbury Catholic; and Tom Betz, Bishop Heelan Catholic Schools.

All the funds raised through the Bishop’s Fundathon for Catholic Schools will go into a fund through the Catholic School Foundation for tuition scholarships for the 16 Catholic school systems.

The 16 Catholic school systems within the Diocese of Sioux City are located in Algona, Alton, Boone, Carroll, Danbury, Denison, Emmetsburg, Fort Dodge, Humboldt, Le Mars, Pocahontas, Remsen, Sheldon, Sioux City, Spencer and Storm Lake. More than 6,000+ students receive a faith-based education each year through the Catholic schools in the diocese.