Alta-Aurelia presents Roald Dahl’s ‘Willy Wonka’

Friday, November 1, 2019

Alta-Aurelia High School presents Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka on November 8 and 9 at 7 p.m. and the10th at 2 p.m. All seats are $5 and can be reserved by calling 200-1331.

Roald Dahl’s Willy Wonka follows enigmatic candy manufacturer, Willy Wonka, as he stages a contest by hiding golden tickets in five of his scrumptious candy bars. Whomever comes up with these tickets will win a free tour of the Wonka factory, as well as a lifetime supply of candy. Four of the five winning children are insufferable brats: the fifth is a likeable young lad named Charlie Bucket, who takes the tour in the company of his equally amiable grandfather. The children must learn to follow Mr. Wonka’s rules in the factory... or suffer the consequences.

The large ensemble cast includes Nathan Weflen as Willy Wonka, Tegan Owens as Charlie Bucket, Caden Shea as Grandpa Joe, Sydney Stanton as Veruca Salt, Matthew Cummins as Mr. Salt, Abigail Marcos as Violet Beauregarde, Jessica Larson as Mrs. Beauregarde, Brennan Shea as Augustus Gloop, Grace Arnts as Mrs. Gloop, Kyler Mattson as Mike Teavee, Kienna Carr as Ms. Teavee, Lucas McKenzie as Grandpa George, Ellie Kaskey as Grandma Georgina, Sierra Hill as Grandma Josephine, Lydia Feis as Mrs. Bucket, Harrison Price as Mr. Bucket, Simon Carlson as Phineous Trout, Joelle Arnts as The Candy Man, Ava Graham as James, and Kyla Galvin as Matilda. The Oompa Loompas are played by Kaysha Brown, Abigail Johnson, Kimberly Weflen, Sarah Cummins, Piper Graham, Kyla Galvin, Ava Graham, Laynie Knecht, Loreli Schumacher, and Ella Walters. Candy Man Kids include Jimena Mendoza, Diogo Sliefert, Jaden Degner, Madlin Wipperling, Lily Buckendahl, Katie Bryant, Ella Walters, and Sarah Sundene. The Squirrels include Laynie Knecht, Loreli Schumacher, Katie Bryant, Gabe McSparran, and Taby Buettner. The Cooks Chorus is played by Kimberly Weflen, Lily Buckendahl, Piper Graham, Sarah Cummins, and Madlin Wipperling. Amelia Damewood is serving as Stage Manager. Orchestra members include Matthew Edwards, Brian Banwell, Cass Parks, Elizabeth Gustafson, and Victoria Gustafson. The cast and crew are under the direction of Mrs. Carrie Buddenhagen and Ms. Natalie Bradburn.