SLHS seniors receive various awards

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Class of 2018 Presidential Awards

Silver Presidential Award is given to students who have shown tremendous growth. These students maintained a 3.5 GPA or have demonstrated unusual commitment to learning in academics despite various obstacles.

Gold Presidential Award- To be eligible for the award, students must maintain a 3.5 GPA, 24 or above on ACT, 12 credits in upper level Math, Science, Foreign Language, and English.

Silver Presidential Awards:

Maria Arreguin, Drew Binning, Jennifer Castaneda, Heidi Coronel, Sami Damanhoury, Stephanie Garcia, Elizabeth Flores, Caitlyn Hesselman, Luxes Inthamath, Karole Iraheta, Amy Jesse, Carina Keokham, Michael Knapp, Crystal Lopez, Leandro Marin, Jimmy Pintin-Garcia, Fatima Rojo, Christopher Shima, Destiny Syhavong, Mai Xiong and Phillip Xouiyavong.

Gold Presidential Awards:

Alassandra Bonagura, Dayne Crouch, Thomas Demers, Kevin Duque, Molly Gallagher, Leng Lee, Matthew Marroquin, Alondra Mueggenberg, Hannah Neumann, Jenna Neumann and Danielle Reyes.

Senior Service Pins:

Shawn Barnett, Christian Clarke, Nyamal Deng, Nyathal Deng, Thomas Demers, Elizabeth Flores, Amy Jesse, Crystal Lopez, Hannah Neumann, Jenna Neumann, Danielle Reyes, Skyves Thammathai and Fue Thao.

Other honors and awards:

Masters of Ceremony- Danielle Reyes; Kiwanis Beaver Citizen Award (Key Club Recognition- Amy Jesse; Daughters of the American Revolution- Thomas Demers, Bernie Saggau Athlete Award- Kevin Duque, 4 Sport Athlete- Danielle Reyes, Brayden Hoops; Teammates Mentoring- Jesus Carrillo, Molly Gallagher, Stephanie Garcia, Chuol Gatluak, Judith Gonzalez, Crystal Lopez, Matthew Marroquin, Edgar Nunez, Dustin Robinson, Miguel Vasquez; BV County 4-H Endowent Scholarship- Thomas Demers; BV County Farm Bureau- Thomas Demers; Farm Bureau State Scholarship- Thomas Demers; Spanish Award- Luis Gutierrez, Jose Razo, Elizabeth Flores, Fernando Gonzalez; Outstanding Senior Vocalist- Dustin Robinson; Director’s Award- Chanthla Brownfield; Winter Dance Party- Roger Peterson Memorial Scholarship- Chanthla Brownfield; John Philip Sousa Award- Soat Sai Luxes Inthamath. Louis Armstrong- Thomas Demers, National School Orchestra Award- Ariel Bozonie; Graceland University Pro Musica Scholarship- Dustin Robinson; Tyson Foods Plant Scholarship- Soat Sai Luxes Inthamath, Skyves Thammathi, Crystal Lopez, Alonzo Rios, Fatima Garcia; Iowa Central Chopped Challenge- Andrei Alvorez, Francisco Balandran, Leng Lee, and Adrian Monsivias; Iowa Central Piping Contest- Patriona Haynes; Governor’s Scholar Recognition Program- Thomas Demers, Alondra Meuggenberg; “Believe to Achieve” Cole Buckholz Memorial Scholarship- Edgar Nunez, Matthew Marroquin; The Lodge of Iowa- Dayne Crouch; Alex Hermsted Sportsmanship Scholarship- Trace Turner; Simpson College Honor Scholarship- Christopher Shima; Student Council Award- Leng Lee, Sumay Oh; Better American Citizenship Award- Evelyna Smith; Life Serve Honor Cord- Drew Binning, Chloe Grafft