The 9th annual Ridge View FFA banquet recap

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

The 9th annual Ridge View FFA Banquet was held on March 23. FFA members, families, and supporters all gathered at Ridge View High School for this special event. Being the 25th anniversary of the FFA chapter, this years banquet was attended by past officer teams, going all the way back to 94.

To kick off the night, attendees were served a delicious meal. Following the meal, the FFA chapter held an awards ceremony. At the ceremony, several awards were granted to meaningful supporters of our FFA chapter. Receiving the honorary member awards were Dan Cuthrell and Ray Wedeking. These two men were selected by the members of the FFA chapter for their outstanding service and commitment to our chapter. Dan has proven to be a val uable friend of the FFA. For many years he has donated seed for the field. Ray has served our chapter by volunteering his time for senior scholarship interviews for many years.

Special recognition awards were granted to eight people who have continuously supported and helped the chapter in many ways. These recipients were Mrs. Olson, Steve Pickhinke, Lonny Kay, Mr. Phelps, Lenore Meyer, Sac County Conservation, Mrs. Kistenmacher, and Gary Brummer.

All students receiving the Greenhand Degree show what it takes to be a new member of the FFA chapter and display the dedication it takes to make our chapter successful. This years recipients were Abraham Henderson, Ross Mentzer, Connor Naberhaus, Logan Pickhinke, Natasha Reginneter, Jon Schmitt, Kael Wiese, and Travis Wiese. There were also six members who received their chapter degrees. This years recipients were Hannah Grieme, Jack Henderson, Gary Juelfs, Viv Leonard, Paige Padavich, and Kole Winkel. Each year one member is chosen for the Star Greenhand Award and one for the Star Chapter Award. These awards were granted to two members who work to improve the chapter as a whole and participate in activities/fundraisers within the school year. Connor Naberhaus was awarded with the Star Greenhand Award. Receiving the Star Chapter Award was Hannah Grieme.

Several members were recognized for being involved in different contests this spring. Katlyn Wiese, Russell Brummer, Rayann Volkert, and Paige Padavich competed at district soil judging where they received a gold and advanced to state where they placed eighth overall as a team. Katlyn placed fourth overall as an individual. This years conduct of meetings team has done very well at both subdistricts and districts, earning golds at both events and advancing to state. The conduct of meetings team includes Kael Wiese, Connor Naberhaus, Natasha Reginneter, Logan Pickhinke, Travis Wiese, Abe Henderson and Ross Mentzer. Another contest that students participated in was agricultural issues and perceptions. In this contest, the team presented how lab-grown meat affects the beef industry. The team of Rachel Kenny, Brooklyn Albers, Katlyn Wiese, Emerson Else, and Russell Brummer placed first at districts, receiving gold rating and will be competing at the state competition. Connor Pickhinke competed in extemporaneous speaking and placed first at districts and advanced to state. At sub-districts, Paige Padavich competed in ag sales and received a bronze rating. Kole Winkel participated in ag broadcasting and got a silver rating at sub-districts and continued to districts where he received a silver. Competing in job interview was Hannah Grieme who received a silver rating at sub-districts.