BVU cross country teams run at Trent Smith Invite

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

MASON CITY - The Buena Vista cross country team sgot back out onto the course Friday evening as it took part in the Trent Smith Invite, hosted by North Iowa Area Community College.

Cameron Kaltschnee continues to run strong for the men and help lead the way for the Beavers, along with Greg Tystahl. The duo finished within a second of each other at the finish line in this race, with Kaltschnee coming in just ahead at 28:05.03 as Tystahl followed at 28:06.33. They placed 18th and 21st, respectively, in the 66-man field.

Tyler Grames, Max Powers, Alex Loerts, Zach Kenny and Ethan Thompson were all bunched together within 19 seconds of each other.

“Nearly every single guy finished with a personal best time today,” said head coach Colt Slack. “Cameron and Greg ran vert gutsy races as our top-two. Also, our top five finished with an average time of 29:03 which is our best in at least four or five years. We are on the right path and confident heading into conference, but we know the grind can’t stop. We have to get better and all the guys are commited to working together to make that happen.”

Wren Klump had her best race in Beaver blue and gold by placing ninth overall with a time of 20:37.22 while Tara Harris was close behind in 11th with a clocking of 20:47.98.

Latrice Hodges and Maya Rowe came in 21st and 24, respectively, and were separated by only 40 seconds.

Victoria Hodge and Jennifer Martinez rounded out the line-up for the Beavers with times of 24:03 and 24:45, respectively.

“I’m so happy for our ladies today,” Slack said. “They competed hard and had a great confidence race before we head into the conference championships in a few weeks. Wren Klump finished top-10 and Tara Harris ran a big personal best to help lead the pack. We are back to the grind though and have two more weeks to get better and stronger.”

Next up for the Beavers will be the American Rivers Conference Championships on October 27 in Lincoln, Neb. This year’s host is Nebraska Wesleyan University. The race will begin after the conclusion of the women’s race which is scheduled to start at 11 a.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: