First Cooperative Association awards $10,000 in scholarships to area students

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

First Cooperative Association, headquartered in Cherokee, Iowa with 23 locations in Northwest Iowa has awarded twenty (20) $500 scholarships to chosen graduates in their trade area. Since 1997 in excess of $154,000 has been given to local graduates to further their education in a variety of fields.

This year’s recipients are:

Jason Hinkeldey, and Morgan Jacobson, Alta-Aurelia High School; Jordyn Bingham, Clare Conley, Frances Conley, Emma Friedrichsen, Chandler Hohbach, Dylan Kohn, and Mason Timmerman, all from Cherokee-Washington High School; Dreysen Lindgren, Mitchell Moritz, and Logan Wenzel, all from Kingsley-Pierson High School; Travis Weiler, MMCRU High School; Cole Degen, Evan Else, and Jonathan Pickhinke, all from Ridge View High School; Brady Rusk, Sioux Central Schools; JC Lange, South O’Brien High School; Jessica Sandhoff, Storm Lake St. Mary’s High School and Travis Zevenbergen, Unity Christian High School

Many of these young people are entering agricultural related and rural study fields and intend to work in rural areas. This is part of a culture that is encouraged by First Cooperative with the hope of continuing and strengthening the rural economy in Iowa.