County Farm Bureau Scholarship winners

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Buena Vista County Farm Bureau is pleased to announce the winners of their 2017 County Farm Bureau scholarship awards.

Jennifer Sievers, Albert City, daughter of Trent and Jill Sievers, is the recipient of the $500 Buena Vista County Farm Bureau scholarship. Awards of $400 each were presented to Kate Christiansen, Newell, daughter of Mike and Lisa Christiansen and Jason Hinkeldey, Alta, son of Kenneth and Denise Hinkeldey. Erin Gerke, Newell, daughter of Marcey Gerke and Denny Gerke was awarded a $300 scholarship.

Jennifer attends Sioux Central High School, Kate and Erin attend Newell-Fonda High School and Jason attends Alta-Aurelia High School.

The scholarship winners were selected following personal interviews with a panel of judges on March 13.

In addition to their Buena Vista County Farm Bureau awards, the applications of Jennifer Sievers and Kate Christiansen have been entered in the Iowa Farm Bureauís state scholarship competition. Judging on the state level will be announced later in April with IFBF awarding 54 scholarships of $1,000 each to high school students from across the state.