Tornado boys finish 3rd in tight Lakes race

Friday, October 12, 2012

STORM LAKE - The Tornadoes' Fernando Ramos finished fourth, and Storm Lake had another four runners finish inside of the top-20 overall, but that still wasn't enough to repeat as the Lakes Conference cross country champions as the 10th-ranked Indians of Class 2A held of the green and white, Spencer, and 5th-ranked Western Christian (2A) in a tight, four-team race for the top spot.

The Indians received a first place finish from Will Norris (16:12), and a third place finish from Tanner Goetsch (17:01), and Kyle Anderson was eighth and Mark Norland 11th as they turned in a team score of 40.

Runner-up Ryan Bauermeister of Spencer came at 16:38, and Matt Behrens followed at fifth at 17:08 to lead the Tigers to a score of 52.

Ramos' time of 17:06 paced the Tornadoes, and he was followed by Kevin Carcamo at 15th (18:01), Peter Mulgae at 17th (18:03), Phillip Bond at 19th (18:11) and David Mulgae at 20th (18:19) as they came in with a team score of 67. Western Christian followed with an 86.

Spencer won the girl's race with a team score of 41 as they had four runners in the top ten, led by a third place finish by Cierra Guerrero at 15:58. Kendra Bauermeister was seventh (16:35), Kari Kramer ninth (16:41) and Sara Bauermeister 10th (16:44).

LeMars was second at 63 led by Kenzie Theisen's first place time of 15:05. Western Christian was third at 69.

The Storm Lake girls came in at eighth place overall with a score of 220. Marlee Nicholson led the way with a 30th place finish at 17:52. Haylee Lindquist was 41st at 19:01.

Back down in Class 3A this year, the Tornadoes will travel to Spencer for the State qualifying meet. Also in attendance will be Algona, Bishop Heelan, Clear Lake, Denison-Schleswig, Estherville-Lincoln Central, Garner-Hayfield, Humboldt, LeMars, MOC-Floyd Valley, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Spencer and Webster City.

That meet will be held next Thursday at 4PM. The top three teams and top ten individuals advance on to the State Meet.

Lakes Conference meet results

October 9th - Storm Lake

Boy's individual results

1. Will Norri Spirit Lake 16:12

2. Ryan Bauermeister Spencer 16:38

3. Tanner Goetsch Spirit Lake 17:01

4. Fernando Ramos Storm Lake 17:06

5. Matt Behrens Spencer 17:08

6. Eamon Adamson Cherokee 17:26

7. Rodrigo Cobian LeMars 17:31

8. Kyle Anderson Spirit Lake 17:35

9. David TeKrony Western C 17:37

10. PJ Kooima Western C 17:37

15. Kevin Carcamo Storm Lake 18:01

17. Peter Mulgae Storm Lake 18:03

19. Phillip Bond Storm Lake 18:11

20. David Mulgae Storm Lake 18:19

24. Moses Yak Storm Lake 18:32

Girl's individual results

1. Kenzie Theisen LeMars 15:05

2. Dondi Schmidt Spirit Lake 15:41

3. Cierra Guerror Spencer 15:58

4. Erika Douma Western C 16:06

5. Mariah Wills Spirit Lake 16:26

6. Miranda Hulstein Western C 16:34

7. Kendra Bauermeister Spencer 16:35

8. Anna VandeKamp Western C 16:35

9. Kari Kramer Spencer 16:41

10. Sara Bauermeister Spencer 16:44

30. Marlee NicholsonStorm Lake17:52

41. Haylee Lindquist Storm Lake19:01

48. Meg. McCleary Storm Lake 19:48

50. Jocelynn Ibarra Storm Lake 20:01

51. Tessa Radcliff Storm Lake 21:50

55. Hilda Munguia Storm Lake 25:56

Boy's team scores

1. Spirit Lake40
2. Spencer52
3. Storm Lake67
4. WesternChristian86
5. LeMars100
6. Estherville-LC154
7. Emmetsburg 201

Girl's team scores

1. Spencer41
2. LeMars63
3. WesternChristian69
4. Estherville-LC89
5. Spirit Lake104
6. Emmetsburg 147
7. Cherokee208
8. Storm Lake220
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: