Alta Firemen's Association Annual Appreciation Night Aug. 18

Friday, August 10, 2012

The Alta Firemen's Association will host its Annual Appreciation Night on Saturday, Aug. 18 at the Alta Community Center. A roast beef dinner will be served 5-7 p.m. Cost is $10 for ages 6 and up, $5 for children 5 and under or a free will donation at the door.

Tickets will be available at the door or can be purchased prior to the event by contacting any fire fighter.

Anyone wishing to have meals delivered to your home, contact Denny Launderville at 299-5151, Willie DeMan at 299-8065 or Dave Strand at 730-5322.

Lois Sievert has donated another afghan to be raffled. Tickets will be a $1 donation. The afghan will be on display at the event.

If you are unable to attend, donations may be sent to the Alta Firemen's Association.

Donations will go towards the purchase of a new heavy rescue vehicle which will replace the 1977 van used for carrying some of the rescue equipment. The new vehicle will allow the department to transport all of the rescue equipment on one vehicle, instead of being divided between four fire apparatuses.

The junior firefighter program was stated in the high shcool last year and it has been a very successful addition to the Alta Fire Department. There are six members in the program that have exhibited a high level of deication and are willing to learn and help in the aspects of the fire service.

The Alta Firemen's Association is dedicated to come to your assistance at any time of the day or night. They responded to 106 calls from July 17, 2011 to July 18, 2012. Federal mandate requires that all fire fighters have 24 hours of training each year. The Alta volunteer fire fighters meet this requirement plus more throughout the year.

The Alta fire fighters are also available for support at local activities (school events, BV County Fair, Hanover Festival, etc.) and are partners in the Partners In Excellence pogram with the fourth and fifth grade classes.

Members of the Alta Firemen's Association are Denny Launderville, chief; Willie DeMan, assistant chief; Dave Suhr, secretary/treasurer; Dave Strand, foreman; Dan Strand, assitant foreman; Jim Grienke, John Wilson, Keith Page, Lindsay Brown, Joey Leonard, John Hase, Brandon Brenner, Jordan Schmitz, David White, Brad Meyer, Kirk Reetz, Ken Carter, Rick Meyer, Jared Schmitz, Lynn Dirks, Dave Schmitz, Andy Russell, Chris Brown, Nate Adams, Bruce Miller, Mark Glienke, Kevin Marshall, Dan Cameron, John Crampton.

Jr. Fire Fighters are Olivia Heschke, Mitchell McDonald, Blake Suhr,. Nehemiah Hase, Gabe McCormick, Andrew Thomas.