[Masthead] Fog/Mist and Breezy ~ 41°F  
High: 53°F ~ Low: 43°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Four retired BVU professors inducted into 
Order of Cumberland and Tollefson

Friday, June 29, 2012

From left: Drs. Stan Bochtler, Ken Schweller, Jeanne Tinsley and Kline Capps
Four newly retired Buena Vista University (BVU) professors have been inducted into the Order of Cumberland and Tollefson.

They are: Dr. Ken Schweller, professor emeritus of computer science and psychology and his wife, Dr. Jeanne Tinsley, professor emeritus of psychology; Dr. Stan Bochtler, professor emeritus of education; and Dr. Kline Capps, professor emeritus of secondary education.

Schweller and Tinsley arrived at BVU in 1976, Bochtler started in 1980 and Capps arrived in 1984.

The Order of Cumberland and Tollefson was established in 1994 and is named for Dr. William H. Cumberland, professor emeritus of history, who was a member of the BVU faculty from 1958-1991, and Dr. Robert Tollefson, professor emeritus of religion and philosophy, whose tenure spanned three decades and three BV presidents. The honor is reserved for retiring BVU faculty members who have given exceptional service to the university. To be eligible, they must have been employed full-time at BVU during the immediate 15 years prior to retirement, hold tenure at the time of retirement, be held in high regard by other faculty and hold the rank of associate professor or greater.

A plaque is given to each inductee in recognition of this honor. Each inductee's name is also be added to the Order of Cumberland and Tollefson plaque located in the campus library in Siebens Forum. The Order includes 24 inductees.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: