[Masthead] Overcast ~ 50°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Buena Vista Raceway is next destination for JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

ALTA -- Still looking for a repeat winner, the 2012 JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour heads to Buena Vista Raceway for a Tuesday, June 26 show.

The IMCA Modified feature pays $1,000 to win and a minimum of $150 to start, and is a qualifying event for this year's Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Pit gates at Alta open at 5 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 6 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:45 p.m. with racing to follow.

Spectator admission is $12 for adults, $10 for seniors and free for military personnel with ID and kids 12 and under. Pit passes are $25.

Also on the Tuesday card are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods, Mach-1 Sport Compacts and BVR bombers.

More information is available at the www.buenavistaraceway.com and www.dirttour.com websites, or by calling 712 830-1193.

Defending series champion Mark Elliott of Webster City won the most recent HDT feature, during the Mighty Howard County Fair in Cresco.

Other winners thus far include Jeff Waterman of Quincy, Ill., Mike Hansen of Alton, Jeremy Mills of Garner and Milo Veloz Jr. of Colona, Ill., Richie Gustin of Gilman is the point leader, eight markers better than Mills.

Filming for Fuel The Thunder 2 documentaries continues at BVR. The seventh of 13 tour dates is Tuesday, July 3 at Algona Raceway.

JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings -- 1. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 186; 2. Jeremy Mills, Garner, 178; 3. Mark Schulte, Delhi, 164; 4. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 157; 5. Darin Duffy, Hazleton, and Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, both 156; 7. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, 154; 8. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill., 151; 9. Rich Smith, Davenport, 146; 10. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, 144; 11. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown, 112; 12. Kelly Meyer, Big Rock, 111; 13. Mike Van Genderen, Newton, 96; 14. Ray Cox Jr., Maquoketa, 89; 15. Jason Schoenberger, Russell, Kan., 76; 16. Jeff Ignaszewski, Wells, Minn., 75; 17. Brad Dierks, Clarence, 71; 18. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 66; 19. J.J. Wise, Manly, 63; 20. Mitchell Morris, Eldridge, 62.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: