[Masthead] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Three mayor races as election slates shape up

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Ballots are set for local municipal elections to be held November 3.

There will be a race for mayor in three communities - Lakeside, Storm Lake and Sioux Rapids. One of the smallest area towns, Truesdale, has produced the busiest field of candidates with eight running for city council seats.

Here are the candidates who filed their nomination papers as of the deadline Friday:

* Albert City - Carl Erickson Jr. is the lone candidate for mayor. Running for city council are Dan Lullman and Dale Skog.

* Alta - Thomas French is running for mayor unopposed. Council candidates are Pam Henderson and Brian Walsh.

* Lakeside - There will be competition for the mayor's position, with incumbent Gene Mandernach and Jason Stoltzfus both seeking office. There are four candidates for city council: Dennis Fisher, Randy Jacobson, Kathleen Pomrenke and Warren Wilson.

* Linn Grove - Ronda Ellis is unopposed for mayor. Council candidates include Diane Lindahl, John C. Nelson, Alan Walquist and Marlin Weier.

* Marathon - Dana Snow is unopposed for mayor. Council candidates include Dustin Klatt, Tony Rydstrom, Kathy Schultz and Teresa Snyder.

* Newell - Dick Christiansen is the only declared candidate for mayor. Running for council are Ethel Crowley, Dana Davis, Shirley Henrich, Nathan Kier and Pamela Wilken.

* Rembrandt - Running for council are Doyle Engebretson, Richard L. King and Neal E. Sennert.

* Sioux Rapids - Andrew Hasley and Jim Wise will face off for the mayor's seat. Council candidates include William Ball, William Johnson, Steve Lonning, Paige Patten and Allen Sorenson.

* Storm Lake - Incumbent Jon Kruse and Willard Christensen have filed for mayor. Council candidates are Dan Anderson, Jody Hocking and Michael Porsch, all in their first bid for municipal office.

* Truesdale - James E. Walker has filed for mayor. Council candidates are Chris Barrickman, Steve Bovero, Donald Brazel, Barry J. Meyer, Needra Ripke, Tina Shannon, Linda C. Walker and James Weiland.

Additional candidates may run as write-ins, but only those filing nomination petitions will be listed on the ballots.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: