Trio of SLHS art students earn elite all-state Visual Arts honors

Tuesday, May 13, 2003

Three Storm Lake High School art students have been named as 2003 Iowa All-State Visual Artists, one of the highest individual honors for high school artists in the state.

Erin Taphorn, Ian MacDonald and Amy Wulfekuhler each received the prestigious award this year, and comprised one-quarter of the 12 total students who received the award. They make up the largest group of SLHS students ever to be named winners of the honor in one year. Former SLHS student Coryn Inglis-Steinfeld received the honor in 2000, while former SLHS student Somphane Rattanavong was an alternate in 2002.

The All-State Award is given to foster the confidence of young artists in the state of Iowa and to provide an opportunity for students to win recognition for outstanding work and talent while maintaining a high academic standing in school.

To compete in the AEI Iowa All-State Visual Art Award, students had to be juniors or seniors, have a GPA of 2.8 or above, have a recommendation from their art instructor, and submit an artist statement. Ten slides had to be submitted, with three drawings needing to be included in the portfolio. All work had to be original and sent in by February of 2003, where it was judged by a select panel of jurors, who evaluated portfolio preparation, the artist's statement, the teacher's recommendation and the student's grade point average.

The All-State Award contest also encourages students to go beyond the choice of commercially promoted imagery and explore topics relevant to their personal cultures and belief systems while also developing their artistic abilities.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: