[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 68°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 60°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

Romualdo, Wagener lead SL wrestlers

Tuesday, December 17, 2002

George Romualdo finished second and Dylan Wagener placed third to help lead Storm Lake in the Emmetsburg Invitational on Saturday.

Storm Lake finished seventh in the team standings. Emmetsburg was the winner.

Romualdo was the runner-up at 145 pounds and Wagener the third-place finisher at 130. Marc Wiley was fifth at 112 pounds, as was Jake Droessler at 275. Austin Brown was sixth at 152.

"Only six kids went with us to Emmetsburg, so it was tough to do well as a team," Storm Lake coach Ty Seaman said. "We were happy with the way we wrestled most of the day. Jake Droessler was an overtime loss away from making the finals and wrestled his best ever. George did a nice job. He lost in the finals to a state champion from Emmetsburg."

We need these more experienced kids to keep improving with the rest of the team and this tournament was a good measuring stick for them to see what they need to work on," Seaman added. "It is getting to be a real tough meet with Emmetsburg, Fort Dodge, Humboldt and LeMars."

Storm Lake JV

Mike Solem, Tony Bedel, Zach Peterson and Pedro Romualdo each captured an individual title at the Denison Invitational on Saturday.

All four wrestlers posted a 3-0 mark in the tournament.

Oscar Garcia, Brice Beal, Dustin Huffman and Adam Kelly all finished second. Michael Mast and Tony Lara were each third.

"Most of our kids just need more time on the mat to gain experience and confidence," Seaman said. "This meet gave these kids the chance for that, and they really wrestled well and showed what they are capable of doing."

Sibley-Ocheyedan Invite

Bradley Gustafson, Matt Gustafson and Brian Borchers each captured an individual title to help AGH place second in the Sibley-Ocheyedan Invitational on Saturday.

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn won the meet with 270.5 points. AGH scored 176. Alta was eighth with 73.5.

Bradley Gustafson won his finals match by pin in 3 minutes, 55 seconds to place first at 112 pounds. Matt Gustafson won his finals match by decision 4-2 in double overtime to finish first at 140. Borchers had an easier time in his finals match at 275, winning by pin in 57 seconds.

Eric Conover placed second at 130 pounds. He lost in the finals by decision 5-4.

Steven Radke finished fourth at 103 pounds, as did Nathaniel Felton at 119, Chris Mikos at 125, Joey Galvin at 145 and Andy Todd at 160.

Jamey Ballard was fifth at 215 and Josh Lyon sixth at 152.

"The kids wrestled better this weekend compared to last weekend, which made the coaches happy," AGH coach Scott Phelps said. "We are improving each week but we still must improve. We lost many consolation matches in which we were ahead in. That is something we will continue to focus on in the next few weeks."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: