[Masthead] Fair ~ 48°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 45°F
Monday, Sep. 22, 2014

BV Conservation Board to offer Explore 2002 day camps for kids

Monday, June 17, 2002

Buena Vista County Conservation Board is offering EXPLORE 2002 day camps held at different sites throughout Buena Vista County for kids 6-12 years old.

Each day will be full of fun and educational activities such as hiking, fishing, environmental crafts and games. All day camps count towards the Iowa Junior naturalist award that kids can earn by attending just three public programs during the year. You must pre-register for each day camp by calling the Buena Vista County naturalist at 749-2563. There will be a minimum class size of seven to hold the day camp and a maximum of 15 kids per daycamp accepted. If there is not a minimum of seven kids signed up for any of the scheduled day camp, that day camp will be canceled. A fee of $3 per day per child will be charged to help defray camp expenses.

Here are the dates and locations for the summer day camps:

*Tuesday, June 25 - Sturchler Park - west of Newell - Fish, Amphibians, and other Cold - Blooded Creatures - 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. - Raindate: Wednesday, June 26.

*Thursday, June 27 - South Cove Park - Storm Lake - Super Seeds and Terrific Trees - 9 a.. - 12 p.m. - Raindate - Friday, June 22.

*Tuesday, July 9- Gabrielson Park - south of Sioux Rapids - Wet land Wonders - 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. Raindate: Wednesday, July 10.

*Thursday, July 11 - Buena Vista County Park - Mammals and their Tracks - 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. Raindate: Friday, July 12.



Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.

Username:

Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.