[Masthead] Fair ~ 63°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

County leaders receive awards

Thursday, April 11, 2002

ISU Extension convocation

Northwest Iowa Extension staff members garnered a number of awards at the Iowa State University Extension Awards Convocation in the Memorial Union in Ames this week.

Local honors include:

* The R.K. Bliss Citation for outstanding achievement in developing an Extension education program went to Dave Stender, Cherokee, Swine Field Specialist, Northwest Iowa. Much in demand for interviews and speaking engagements, Stender was recognized for his staff leadership.

* Kris Kohl, Storm Lake, Agricultural Engineering Field Specialist, received an ISU Extension Individual Achievement Award for his leadership at the state, regional and national level in development of effective programs for manure management and protecting the environment.

Those honoring Kohl also noted his rapport with producers, legislators and government regulators on environmental issues.

Team recognition awards went to three northwest Iowa teams.

* The Extension Achievement Organizational Team Award went to Jerry Weiss, Pocahontas, Swine Field Specialist; Tom Olsen, Storm Lake, Farm Management Field Specialist; Ron Hook, Sibley, Farm Management Field Specialist; Ester Mae Cox, Sioux City, Woodbury County Extension Education Director; and Rhonda Christensen, Storm Lake, Buena Vista County Extension Education Director.

These team members were cited for addressing technology training needs and for six training programs responsive to those needs.

* An ISU Extension Achievement Educational Team honor went to Joel DeJong, LeMars, Crops Field Specialist; Kris Kohl, Storm Lake, Agricultural Engineering Field Specialist; Mary Hettinga, Orange City, Agriculture Program Assistant; and Cheryl Heronemus, Orange City, Sioux County Extension Education Director.

The four were recognized for their educational programming for manure nutrient management through a Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture Grant.

* A four-member Buena Vista County team received the ISU Extension Diversity Achievement Award for efforts with over 600 minority youth and adults involved in Extension programs for the past two years.

Team members included Rhonda Christensen, Storm Lake, Buena Vista County Extension Education Director; Jan Lietz, Storm Lake, Buena Vista County Youth Coordinator; Deb Kruse, Storm Lake, Buena Vista County Office Assistant; and Francisco Altamirano, Storm Lake, Program Assistant with the Food and Nutrition Program.