[Masthead] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 63°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

The Best of the Brush

Monday, April 8, 2002

The Witter Gallery hosted the Iowa Artists Annual Show this Saturday.

Artists from 16 counties exhibited their works, ranging from watercolors to sculpted walking sticks. Frank Breneisen, a professor of art at Morningside College, judged the work. Ribbons were awarded for first, second and third places, as well as honorable mentions. First-place winners are eligible to enter work in the State Show. Pictured are first-place winners, front, Cindy Smith, Terril; and Linda Fries, Peterson. In back, Roberta Brehmer, Peterson; Diane Noll, Linn Grove; Duane Simmons, Onawa; and Barbara McGee, Peterson.

Other ribbons awarded include Cathy Reed, Meriden, second place; Michele Mohr, Cherokee, third place; Tony Morris, Cherokee, third place; Rosanna Morrow, Newell, third place; Lynn Harrison, Spencer, third place; Beth Wilson, Paulina, third place; Doris Soderquest, Albert City, honorable mention; Diane Noll, Linn Grove, honorable mention; Irene McCoy, Milford, second place and honorable mention; Jolene Dentlinger, Storm Lake, second place and third place; Sara Weitzel, Early, second place and honorable mention; Cindy Smith, Terril, second place and honorable mention; Barbara McGee, Peterson, two honorable mentions; Jeanne Virtue, Onawa, second place and honorable mention; Duane Simmons, second place; Linda Fries, Peterson, second place; and Netha Wise, Marcus, honorable mention.