[Masthead] ~ 57°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 45°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

P-P players headline NWC first team picks

Wednesday, March 20, 2002

Three players from Class 1A state champion Pomeroy-Palmer headline the Northwest Conference first team boys basketball selections.

Seniors Nick Ford, Dustin Thompson and Chris Hanssen were all selected to the first team. They were joined by senior Tyler Vaudt of Sioux Central, senior Jason Ripke of Newell-Fonda, junior Jason Pyle of Schaller-Crestland and senior Eric Wordekemper of Storm Lake St. Mary's.

Chosen to the second team were senior Alex Poppen of Pomeroy-Palmer, senior Heath Glienke and sophomore Eric Holton of Alta, senior Nate Wittmaack of Sioux Central, senior Eric Sonksen of Aurelia, senior Marcus Malcom of Schaller-Crestland and senior Joe Fitzgerald of Storm Lake St. Mary's.

Making honorable mention were Matt Markert of Pomeroy-Palmer, Jared Daniel of Newell-Fonda, Jared Johnson of Alta, Jason Ferguson of Sioux Central, John Bentsen of Aurelia, Nathan Johnson of Schaller-Crestland, Kyle Drey of Storm Lake St. Mary's, Steve Steiger of Sac City and Jake Heuton of Albert City-Truesdale.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: