[Masthead] Fog/Mist ~ 41°F  
High: 53°F ~ Low: 43°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

BV sends 5 wrestlers to nationals

Monday, February 18, 2002

Taxted, Loewens, Doran get automatic berths; Wilsbacher, Wood at-large bids.

INDIANOLA - Jamie Taxted, Aaron Loewens and Dax Doran all received automatic berths to the NCAA Division III National Wrestling Championships after finishing in the top two in their respective weight classes at the Iowa Conference tournament on Thursday in Indianola.

Buena Vista's Taylor Wood, who finished third, and Pat Wilsbacher, who placed fifth, received at-large bids to the national meet.

The top two wrestlers in each weight class in addition to 14 wild cards qualify for the national tournament, which will be held March 1-2 in Scranton, Pa.

Wartburg won its 10th consecutive conference title with 160 points. Luther was second with 131.5 points, Upper Iowa third with 122.5, Loras fourth with 114 and Buena Vista fifth with 108.5 points.

Loewens was the conference champion at 157 pounds. The No. 1 seed won by technical fall 15-0 in the quarterfinals, posted a win by decision 6-2 in the semifinals, and beat Wartburg's Kevin Bratland 8-6 in the finals.

Taxted finished second at 125 pounds. The No. 1 seed won by decision 3-0 in the quarterfinals, posted a win by decision 7-5 in the semifinals, and lost to No. 3 seed Jeremy Hendricks of Central 2-0 in the finals.

Doran placed second at heavyweight. He won by pin in 2:11 in the quarterfinals, won by pin in 5:38 in the semifinals, and lost to Wartburg's LeRoy Gardner by decision 9-5 in the championship match.

Wood won his quarterfinal match by technical fall 19-2, but then lost to No. 1 seed Jesus Wilson of Upper Iowa 19-9 in the semifinals. Wood won by decision 6-0 in the consolation semifinals and won 7-5 in the third-place match at 141.

Wilsbacher lost by pin in the quarterfinals but rebounded with a win by major decision 24-12 in the consolation quarterfinals. He lost 7-4 in the consolation semifinals and won by injury default in the fifth-place match.

Rick Delagardelle placed third at 174. He pinned his first round opponent in 5:11, won 6-4 in the quarterfinals, lost 11-5 in the semifinals, posted a 7-6 win in the consolation semifinals, and won by major decision 15-5 in the third-place match.

Mike Vagher placed sixth at 133. He lost 8-5 in the quarterfinals, but won two matches by decision in the consolation rounds, 5-1 and 8-5. Vagher then lost 7-4 in the consolation semifinals and lost 10-1 in the fifth-place match.

Mike Irvin finished sixth at 197. He won by technical fall 17-2 in the first round, lost 5-3 in the quarterfinals, won 9-5 in the consolation quarterfinals, lost 4-3 in the consolation semifinals, and was defeated 4-2 in the fifth-place match.

Alex Brandenburg placed seventh at 149. He lost by decision 9-2 in the quarterfinals, lost by decision 7-6 in the consolation quarterfinals, and won by decision 12-8 in the seventh-place match.

Junior Varsity Tourney

Buena Vista's David Loewens pinned Coe's Nick Cole in 4:45 to win the 149-pound weight class in the junior varsity meet.

Loewens won his quarterfinal round match by pin in 47 seconds. He then won by major decision 13-2 in the semifinals.

Derrick Schumacher also placed first for Buena Vista. He pinned Cornell's Chuck Cummins in 1:07 in the finals.

Schumacher won by decision 12-8 and won by pin in 28 seconds in the semifinals. Brett McDonough was fifth at 141.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: