[Masthead] Fair ~ 57°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Storm Lake students dominate regional scholastic art competition

Tuesday, January 29, 2002

This year the Northwest Iowa Regional Scholastic Art Awards recognizes the largest number of Storm Lake Middle and High School students ever.

On January 12, 75 art works by 42 Storm Lake High School and 6 Middle School art students have been accepted to this show. This year 71 SLHS and 17 SLMS students prepared and submitted 12 portfolios (8 works each) and 135 individual works in various categories. This juried competition is open to all public and private schools in grades 7-12 in the northwest region of Iowa (AEA's 3, 4, 5 and 12). This year a total of 245 works were juried for display at the Morningside Eppley Art Gallery in Sioux City, Iowa.

In the Senior Portfolio Division, seven seniors had their art portfolios accepted to national competition in New York. They are Nancy Bejarano, Jairo Cortez, Leah Hoffard, Toni Khounlo, Martha Ramirez, Somphane Rattanavong and Khio Vongdeuane. These portfolios will advance to the National Scholastic Art Awards and compete for scholarships to well known art schools around the country. The highest individual award given is the American Visions Award given to the five best Gold Key pieces in the show. Rattanavong and Vongdeuane each received the distinction of one of these awards for their drawings. Later this spring one of these five will be selected at national as the top American Vision and will receive a cash award. In addition a new award this year gave 9 Storm Lake seniors a $2000.00 art scholarship to Morningside College, they are all seven portfolio winners mentioned above plus April DeWall and Phanat Vilayseuk. Also noteworthy in Division II is junior, Kate Fitzpatrick having 6 individual works accepted including 4 Gold Keys; and in Division I freshman, Katia Barragan having 4 works accepted including 3 Gold Keys and 1 Silver Key.

Individual Gold Key Awards were given to the top 50 art pieces in the show and these works will also advance to be juried in the National Scholastic Art Awards in New York. Silver Key awards were given to the next 50 best works after the Gold Key. These are followed by the Honorable Mention Awards and others accepted which complete the exhibit.

In the Division I (7th-9th grades):

Gold Key Awards went to: Katia Barragan (9th)-three awards, Abby Diehl (9th), Alison Douglas (9th), Gwen Inglis-Steinfeld (9th), Andrea Mangold (9th), Alex Ringgenberg (8th) and Jay Severson (9th).

Silver Key Awards went to: Katia Barragan (9th), Abby Diehl (9th), Alison Douglas (9th), Sanh Mounethep (9th), Allison Moore (8th) and Lamtong Sounnorath (7th).

Other works accepted to the show: Abby Diehl (9th)-two works, Lesly Franco (9th), Andrea Mangold (9th)-three works, Jesus Mendez (9th), Hillary Reinert (9th), Jay Severson (9th), Philip Andrews (8th), Brad Hohneke (7th) and Donna Thephavong (7th).

In Division II (10th-12th):

Gold Key Awards went to: Nancy Bejarano ('02), Leah Hoffard ('02), Martha Ramirez ('02), Somphane Rattanavong ('02), Phanat Vilayseuk ('02), Khio Vongdeuane ('02), Kate Fitzpatrick ('03) four awards, Cassandra Jennett ('03), Ana Rivera ('03), Jennifer Wendt ('03) and David Stewart ('04).

The Silver Key Awards went to: April DeWall ('02), Toni Khounlo ('02)-two awards, Somphane Rattanavong ('02), Jon Ellwanger ('03), Yer Her ('03), Ian MacDonald ('03), Hillary Reinert ('03), Christina Sennert ('03), Emma Fikkert ('04) and Astar Naphtalay ('04).

Other works accepted to the show: Kara Baillie ('02)-two works, Jairo Cortez ('02), April DeWall ('02), Megan Olerich ('02), Josh Quirin ('02), Martha Ramirez ('02), Somphane Rattanavong ('02), Jennifer Salas ('02), Amanda Davis ('03), Kate Fitzpatrick ('03)-two works, Cassandra Jennett ('03), Laura Lopez ('03), Ian MacDonald ('03)-two works, Erin Taphorn ('03) and Amy Wulfekuhler ('03)-two works, Celina Carpenter ('04), Kate Smith ('04) and Ashley Wolver ('04).

The Scholastic Art Awards have given millions of students throughout the nation the opportunity to explore their powers of invention, to stretch their imaginations and put their art work on display. For the past 82 years it has been the largest competition of their kind. The objective: to foster the confidence of young artists and give them the opportunity to win recognition from the world at large.

The show at Morningside College has been open since January 14 and continues through January 26, 2002. The Awards Ceremony honoring these students was held on Sunday, January 20 at 12:00 noon at the Eppley Gallery. The address for the Eppley Art Gallery is 3625 Garretson Ave., Sioux City, Iowa 51106. Good luck to the Gold Key award students at nationals in New York.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: