[Masthead] ~ 46°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Newell-Fonda principal set to represent NW Iowa athletics

Monday, November 26, 2001

Eight school administrators have been elected to the Representative Council of the Iowa High School Athletic Association.

Elected to the Council from the Northeast District, Class A schools, were Gary Stumberg, superintendent of schools at Starmont and Richard Evans, high school principal at New Hampton. The Class AA schools new council member in northeast Iowa is Stan Slessor, superintendent at Waverly-Shell Rock.

Phillip Casey, principal at Newell-Fonda School, was elected as a Class A representative in northwest Iowa. In the Central District, the new Class A schools representative is Jeff Herzberg, principal at Iowa Falls High School.

Other Class A Council members elected are: Dave Harris, superintendent of schools at Sigourney, southeast district; and Tim Hood, superintendent of schools at Creston, and Randy Botts, principal at Fremont-Mills Jr.-Sr. High School.

The 25-member Representative Council is the legislative branch of the IHSAA. Each of the five geographical districts of the state is represented. The group is charged with the formulation of the aims and policies of the Association for the ensuing year, and they have the power to initiate amendments and new rules to submit to the member schools. It is also a sounding board for IHSAA concerns from their constituency.

Each district has four representatives from Class A schools and one from Class AA schools. Members are elected on revolving five year terms.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: