SL students selected to All-State Festival

Friday, October 26, 2001

District auditions for the 277-piece All-State Band, 190-piece All-State Orchestra and 600-voice All-State Chorus were held Saturday, Oct. 20 at Storm Lake, and 19 Storm Lake High School students were selected to be a part of these ensembles.

Approximately 17 percent of the students who audition across the state are selected for membership into the groups, making the achievement one of the highest individual honors available to Iowa high school musicians.

Storm Lake High School students selected for the All-State Festival are:

Orchestra: Nate Inglis-Steinfeld, cello, son of Peter Steinfeld; Kristen Rude, violin, daughter of Ed and Joan Rude

Band: Tara Konradi, flute, daughter of Randy and Barb Konradi; Andy Whitlatch, clarinet, son of Jean and Mike Whitlatch

Chorus: Liz Andrews, alto, daughter of Dan and Kay Andrews; Cami Bowers, soprano, daughter of Paul Bowers and Hollace Drake; Jennifer Licktieg, soprano, daughter of Faye and Al Licktieg; Allen Hinkle, tenor, son of Sally and Warren Hinkle; Nate Otto, tenor, son of Steve and Deb Otto; Jessica Siefer, alto, daughter of Dan and Merriane Siefer; Joni Sievers, soprano, daughter of Tom and Marlene Sievers; Chuck Stark, bass, son of Jeff and Peg Stark; Nick Skibsted, bass, son of Connie and Dave Skibsted; Adam Thompson, tenor, son of Doug and Jennifer Thompson

First Alternates: Dan Buckingham, tenor, son of Al and Kathy Buckingham; Kurt Hanna, bass, son of Mike and Pam Hanna; Bobbi Meyer, alto, daughter of Dennis and Stacy Meyer; Jason Lovstad, clarinet, son of Bob and Leanne Lovstad

Second Alternate: Ben Wells, percussion, son of Mike and Barb Wells

All-State participants will rehearse in Ames on Friday and Saturday, Nov. 16-17 and the All-State Festival Concert will be presented to the public at 7:30 p.m. in the Hilton Coliseum at Iowa State University in Ames on the evening of Sat., Nov. 17.

This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association. Ticket information is available from any of the Storm Lake High School music directors.

Storm Lake High School students who should be recognized for their efforts even though they were not selected are: Matt Safley, Liz Tjaden, Lisa DeMan, Jeff DeHaan, Rory Fulcher, Heidi Germann, Jessica Keen, Chad Hotovec, Beth Soellner, Sarah Hawkins, Brenda Iehl, Jason Halder, Kayla Gutz, Samuel Becker, Matt Hoskins, Rachel Hustedt, Lindsay Hoeppner, Katy Jacobson, Kristin Matasovsky, Stacy Schmidt and Abby Diehl.

Storm Lake music officials would also like to thank all the students and adults that helped run the festival at the high school, as a great number of favorable comments were received from the participating schools who came to Storm Lake from across northwest Iowa, according to music educator Frank Hoskins.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: