[Masthead] Fair and Breezy ~ 66°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 42°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

CROSS COUNTRY - Lady Pirates place 2nd in G-H Invitational

Wednesday, September 12, 2001

HOLSTEIN - Laura Jacobson finished sixth overall to help lead Galva-Holstein to a second-place finish in the Galva-Holstein Invitational on Saturday.

West Sioux won the team title with 31 points. Galva-Holstein scored 65. LM-ACT was fifth with 97, Sioux Central 14th with 248 and Aurelia 17th with 328.

Jacobson posted a time of 12 minutes, 35.90 seconds to pace the Pirates. Teammate April Igou was eighth with a time of 12:40.92.

Galva-Holstein's Donna Hanson placed 24th with a time of 13:14.67, while Abbie Bagenstos was 27th in 13:22.76, Melanie Vollmar 29th in 13:25.16 and Janel Smith 43rd with a time of 13:47.89.

Tiffany Dallenbach finished 11th overall with a time of 12:45.30 to lead LM-ACT. Tracy Snow was 12th in a time of 12:51.01. Christy Moss was 67th in 14:46.07 and Angela Thomas 86th in 16:01.72.

Melanie Thompson finished 42nd with a time of 13:46.49 to lead Sioux Central. Robyn Daly was 61st in 14:34.93, Lindsey Pierce 72nd in 15:11.41, Liz Reed 73rd in 15:11.96 and Dawn Sassman 98th in a time of 17:10.34.

Trista Johnson placed 44th with a time of 13:51.83 to lead Aurelia. Leah Fishman was 85th in 15:50.73, Tina Wagenaar 99th in 17:15.04, Jill Smith 100th in 17:34.52, Melissa Keith 101st in 17:36.54 and Jennifer Cougill 103rd with a time of 17:50.34.

Alta's Halley Cranston finished 48th with a time of 14:04.75.

Boys Division

West Sioux won the team title by scoring 56 points. LM-ACT was fifth with 169, Galva-Holstein eighth with 238 and Sioux Central 13th with 411.

David Winkler paced LM-ACT by finishing 11th with a time of 17:52.24. Caleb Ehlers was 19th in 18:06.33. John Hopkins finished 41st with a time of 18:49.95. Jeff Olsen placed 45th in 18:54.06, Bjorn Johnson 53rd in 19:08.61, Kyle Hart 61st in 19:22.10 and Todd Reese 63rd in 19:25.37.

Galva-Holstein was paced by Chad Hustedt, who finished 20th with a time of 18:07.56. Nathan Drury placed 35th in 18:41.43. Ryan Paulsen was 58th in a time of 19:14.92, Joey Galvin 76th in 20:05.47 and Ryan Goettsch 88th in 20:57.45.

Sioux Central was led by Richie Thacker, who finished ninth overall with a time of 17:38.93. Joel Mills was 92nd with a time of 21:12.97, David Tellefson 100th in 21:51.57, Cody McCall 104th in 22:06.61, Chris Smith 106th in 22:20.71 and Kevin Howard 119th with a time of 23:24.15.

Alta was paced by Ryan Nehring, who placed 85th with a time of 20:50.78. Nate Hinkeldey was 107th in 22:23.24 and Tom Hinkeldey 124th in a clocking of 23:35.47.

Aurelia's Kory Biggerstaff finished 69th with a time of 19:43.07. Curtis Parker was 82nd in 20:33.53, while Garrett Hill was 125th in 23:40.57.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: