[Masthead] Fair ~ 43°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 42°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

SL takes fifth at districts, sends three to state meet

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

SPENCER - Storm Lake will be well represented down at the state meet this week as Ben Seaman (160) and Jorge Hernandez (285) took district championships, and Tony Pertzborn (171) earned runner-up honors, as the trio will make the trip down to Des Moines.

"We were pleased with our performance on Saturday," said SL head coach Ty Seaman. "It's always bittersweet. You are happy for the kids who made it but at the same time feel bad for the ones who didn't. Jorge had his best meet of the year and wrestled very aggressively. Tony had a real good tourney and dominated a very good kid in the semifinals to get through. Ben wrestled solid and won a couple of close matches, something that he has had trouble with during the year. Now the kids need to rethink and reset some goals, and go to Des Moines and bring home a medal."

Fort Dodge took home top team honors Saturday and will send seven off to state. Sioux City East finished second with six state qualifiers, and the host Tigers took third and will send five down to Des Moines.

Seaman (29-10) picked up a 7-6 win over Sioux City North's Daniel Jones in the opening round and a 3-0 decision over Spencer's Jordon Rasmussen next. In the finals, it was another close match with Seaman taking a 7-5 victory over Ft. Dodge's Trevor Cook (28-9).

Pertzborn (34-11) opened Saturday's meet with a pin of LeMars' Ben Beitelspacher n 4:28. The senior followed with a big 6-3 upset of Sioux City North's Beau Gill (35-5, #6 in 3A). Pertzborn would then fall to Spencer's Zach VanWettering in the finals.

Hernandez (32-11) earned a first round bye before pinning Denison's Conor Heiden at the three-minute mark in the semifinals. In the finals, he met Sioux City West's Andrew Finzen (43-8) and secured another victory by fall midway through the third period.

Patrick Higgins just missed out with a third place finish. The 140-pounder earned a 6-0 decision over Spencer's Tyler Schaefer, but fell to eventual runner-up Mike Otto in 3:52. Higgins topped Sioux City North's Eric Ryan 7-1 in the consolation bracket.

Gabriel Torres (112) and Jose Diaz (135)picked up fourth place finishes after going 1-2.

Class 3A matches begin Wednesday afternoon. Seaman's first round opponent is Cedar Rapids Kennedy junior Zach Parsons (27-10). Pertzborn drew West Des Moines Valley junior Michael Foster (34-8), and Hernandez will face Norwalk's Tyler Thompson (36-1).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: