[Masthead] Overcast ~ 59°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Miami's Pennington wins second comeback award

Monday, January 5, 2009

NEW YORK (AP) - Chad Pennington put being released by the Jets behind him and led the Dolphins to the AFC East title.

For the second time in three years, Pennington is NFL Comeback Player of the Year and the first player in the 11 seasons of the award to win it twice.

This time, Pennington was coming back from being benched in New York last season. Two years ago, Pennington returned from two rotator cuff operations and led the Jets to the playoffs to grab the honors.

"It's a reflection upon this organization and upon my teammates. This could have easily been an awkward situation with the new guy coming in the day of the first preseason game. It could have been a situation where there could have been sides chosen. These guys in this locker room wanted no part of that. They just wanted whoever to come in and help win."

Pennington received 19 of 50 votes,13 more than QBs Kerry Collins of Tennessee and Jake Delhomme of Carolina. Arizona's Kurt Warner received four votes, as did teammate, Anquan Boldin. So did The Bucs' Antonio Bryant.

Two of Pennington's teammates also received votes: Joey Porter ,three, and Ronnie Brown, one.

Also with one vote were San Diego QB Philip Rivers, Pittsburgh safety Ryan Clark and Baltimore tackle Willie Anderson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: