[Masthead] Fair ~ 70°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Musical brought to stage by SLHS

Thursday, October 30, 2008

Bye Bye Birdie

The Storm Lake Drama Department presents the musical comedy, "Bye Bye Birdie" on the South Auditorium stage Nov. 13, 14 and 15, 7:30 p.m.

"Bye Bye Birdie" tells the story of a rock and roll singer who is about to be inducted into the army. The singer, Conrad Birdie is a flashy Elvis Presley type, while Albert Peterson, his agent, is a pleasant mild mannered young man. Albert's faithful secretary Rose Alvarez keeps them on the right track. Rosie concocts one final national publicity plan before Conrad's induction.

Conrad will bid some lucky typical American teen-age girl goodbye with an all-American kiss. Kim MacAfee in Sweet Apple, Ohio wins the honor. All of the phones in her town are already busy during The Telephone Hour as Kim has just been pinned to Hugo, a local boy.

The arrival of Birdie in Sweet Apple causes people of all ages to swoon. It is decided that Birdie will give his one last kiss on the Ed Sullivan show. Kim's father, who laments the whole uproar, tries to break into the act.

Birdie becomes disgusted with his life and goes out on the town with the teenagers. The parents of Sweet Apple cannot understand the new generation and express this. Rosie, still waiting for that band of gold from Albert after eight years, invades a Shriners' meeting. An extremely hilarious ballet ensues.

Rosie then decides to become the Latin American spitfire that she is painted as, by Albert's catastrophe-ridden mother. She is determined to become Spanish Rose. Kim is reunited with Hugo, and Rose with Albert in the lovely number "Rosie."

The Storm Lake High School cast includes Casey Schultz as Albert Peterson; Erin Tucker as Rose Alvarez, Peter Douglas as Conrad Birdie and Laura McDowell as Kim MacAfee.

Other members of the cast are Annie Brophy, Alison Hixon, Steph Emery, Coy Clark, Katie Demers, Blake Luy, Whitney Robinson, Eddie de la Paz, Mariah Reinders, Cecily Rhode, Courtney Goodchild, Katie Matasovsky, Cassie Snedeker, Thomas Patton, Nicole Martin, Ben Seaman, Jonathon Hartje, Michael Eades, Tyler Grant, Patrick Higgins, Shelby O'Bannon, Tara Coenen, Spencer Darrow, Cindy Barahona, Austin Miller, Joe Patton, Alex Lenhart, Cayla Egesdal, Alyssa Sievers, Caycee Reis, Beth Bedel, Dylan Gustafson, Merilyn Parada, Aaron Shadlow, Cassie Meylor, Kim Swindt, Karla Vetter., Anna Wulfekuler and Kristin Anderson.Tickets will be available at the door for $ 5 (adult) and $4 for students. Directing the play is Teresa Coenen and Jason Baker. Jeff Tollefson is the music director.