[Masthead] ~ 82°F  
High: 82°F ~ Low: 57°F
Monday, June 27, 2016

Don Bosco, Ballard Huxley and Waverly-Shell Rock set records 

Tuesday, February 19, 2008

DES MOINES (AP) - Don Bosco Gilbertville, Ballard Huxley and Waverly-Shell Rock all set new class scoring records at the state wrestling championships Saturday.

Don Bosco Gilbertville romped to its third straight Class 1A title with a remarkable 81-point win over New London/WMU, setting a new class scoring record with 175.5 points.

Ballard Huxley won its first state title, breaking the 2A scoring mark with 181.5 points. Waverly-Shell Rock snapped Iowa City West's two-year hold on the 3A title, scoring 225 points.

Three individuals became three-time state champions, as Linn-Mar Marion's Matt McDonough, Creston-Orient Macksburg's Andrew Long and Bart Reiter of Don Bosco Gilbertville won title matches to cap brilliant careers. They join 13 other wrestlers as three-time winners this decade.

McDonough was the Class 3A 130-pound winner, pinning Julian Feikert of Keokuk in 3:00. Long easily won the 2A 125-pound title, earning a technical fall over Tanner Weatherman of Ballard Huxley, 18-3 in 4:43.

Reiter, a 125-pounder who won by technical fall over Jason Winkler of South Winneshiek Calmar, joins his older brother Mack in state tournament lore. Mack won four titles for Don Bosco from 2000-03.

Brothers ruled for Iowa City West, as Nate and Nick Moore finished their seasons as undefeated state champions, repeating their title performances from a year ago. Nate, a senior, went 46-0 this season and pinned Casey Strub of Indianola for the 125-pound title. Nick, a sophomore, scored a major decision over Davenport North's Alec Hoffman at 140 pounds.

Wins by Derek St. John and Grant Gambrall gave Iowa City West four state champions. Waverly-Shell Rock had four as well, Mark and Jacob Ballweg, Dylan Wrage and heavyweight Eric Thompson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: