[Masthead] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Cyclones fall to No. 2 CL, S-O

Monday, January 7, 2008

ALTA - The Alta High School wrestling team dropped a pair of duals here Thursday night at a four-team gathering at the middle school.

The Cyclones (4-4, 4-1 conference) first lost to 1A No. 2-ranked Central Lyon, 58-18, then fell to Sibley-Ocheyedan, 47-26.

Cyclones 130-pounder Scott Robbins had a standout night, first pinning Central Lyon's Jesse Bandestreek in under a minute, then racking up a major decision over S-O's Huston Hieronimus.

Ryan Sawyer (140) earned a pin and a major decision as well.

Jake Syndergaard (285) and Marcus Alafa (119) both recorded a win by fall.

Schuyler Radke (145) earned a major decision, while Josh Sager (112) and Matt Sefcik (215) both won a match by decision.

In the other duals, Sibley-Ocheyedan beat Kingsley-Pierson 66-7, and Central Lyon beat Kingsley-Pierson 61-12.

Alta is at the Kingsley-Pierson Tournament this morning in Kingsley.

Central Lyon 58, Alta 18

103 - Alex Rust (CL) won by forfeit

112 - Cole Zimbelman (CL) pinned Josh Sager

119 - Tyler Hofer (CL) dec. Marcus Alafa, 3-2

125 - Nate Beyenhof (CL) pinned Brent Johnson

130 - Scott Robbins (A) pinned Jesse Bandestreek

135 - Nate DeBoer (CL) pinned Nathan Robbins

140 - Ryan Sawyer (A) pinned Tyler Sindt

145 - Nate Herda (CL) major dec. Schuyler Radke

152 - Dylan Reynolds (CL) pinned Kasey Sievers

160 - Jeff Gacke (CL) pinned Miah Haller

171 - Jordan Gacke (CL) won by forfeit

189 - Cody Zimbelman (CL) won by forfeit

215 - Scott Eben (CL) dec. Matt Sefcik

285 - Jake Syndergaard (A) pinned Brian Cuperus

Sibley-Ocheyedan 47, Alta 26

103 - Ernesto Dominguez (A) won by forfeit

112 - Josh Sager (A) dec. Jesse Glade

119 - Marcus Alafa (A) pinned Tucker Boone

125 - Steven Brockshus (S-O) pinned Brent Johnson

130 - Scott Robbins (A) major dec. Huston Hieronimus

135 - Justin Truckenmiller (S-O) pinned Nathan Robbins

140 - Ryan Sawyer (A) major dec. Ted Kruger

145 - Schuyler Radke (A) major dec. Shaun Ludwig

152 - Brandon Ackerman (S-O) pinned Kasey Sievers

160 - Brian Block (S-O) pinned Miah Haller

171 - Max Eddy (S-O) won by forfeit

189 - Dylan Vandergaard (S-O) won by forfeit

215 - Matt Sefcik (A) dec. Tony Boersma

285 - Jay Kruger (S-O) pinned Jake Syndergaard

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: