[Masthead] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 42°F ~ Low: 27°F
Friday, Mar. 6, 2015

Tornado wrestlers back in action

Monday, January 7, 2008

SPENCER - Ben Seaman (152 pounds) and Tony Pertzborn (160) each recorded a first-period pin and a win by decision for Storm Lake's wrestling team in a Lakes Conference double dual here Thursday.

The Tornadoes (4-4, 3-3 Lakes) beat Le Mars 48-27 and lost to Spencer 50-18. The Tornadoes are at the Clear Lake Invitational at 9:30 this morning.

"For our first meet back, I felt we did some nice things," said Storm Lake coach Ty Seaman of the Le Mars meet. "We went out aggressive and got the pin in several matches."

Seaman said that even though the Tornadoes lost to Spencer, they showed some positive signs in that meet.

"I really felt like we wrestled better in this meet," he said. "We wrestled hard, stayed in good position and gave ourselves a chance to win matches.

"Spencer has a real balanced team and we very easily could have split seven wins each. We just need to keep getting better, improving on the little things."

Storm Lake 48, Le Mars 27

Individual Results

(in order of finish with running team scores in parentheses)

160 - Tony Pertzborn (SL) won 7-5 decision over Ben Beitelspacher (LM), (3-0)

171 - Zach Dimmick (LM) won by fall in 2:56 over Paco Vazquez (SL), (3-6)

189 - Spencer Vore (LM) won by fall in :39 over Michael Eades (SL), (3-12)

215 - Andrew Prichard (LM) won by fall in 2:54 over Jake Larson (SL), (3-18)

285 - Jorge Hernandez (SL) won by fall in :54 over Chris Stevenson (LM), (9-18)

103 - Gabriel Torres (SL) won by forfeit, (15-18)

112 - Jared Brashears (SL) won by fall in 1:14 over Palani Permeswaran (LM), (21-18)

119 - Chris Rios (SL) won by forfeit, (27-18)

125 - Drew Lindsey (LM) won by forfeit, (27-24)

130 - Michael Mohr (SL) won 15-11 dec. over Rene Van Whye (LM), (30-24)

140 - Patrick Higgins (SL) won by fall in :21 over Zach Reuter (LM), (36-24)

135 - Zach Reed (LM) won 16-9 dec. over Jose Diaz (SL), (36-27)

145 - Ryan Lovstad (SL) won by fall in :41 over Jacob Stonesifer (LM), (42-27)

152 - Ben Seaman (SL) won by fall in :53 over Alex Klein (LM), (48-27)

Spencer 50, Storm Lake 18

Individual Results

(in order of finish with running team scores in parentheses)

171 - Zach Van Wettering (S) won 10-2 major dec. over Paco Vazquez (SL), (0-4)

189 - Sean Elliott (S) won by fall in 1:11 over Michael Eades (SL), (0-10)

215 - Tyler Kacmarynski (S) won by fall in 1:48 over Jake Larson (SL), (0-16)

285 - Casey Muessigmann (S) won by fall in 1:58 over Jorge Hernandez (SL), (0-22)

103 - Gabriel Torres (SL) won by fall in 5:50 over Murray Scott (S), (6-22)

112 - Brock Storm (S) won 8-2 dec. over Jared Brashears (SL), (6-25)

125 - Evan Quail (S) won by forfeit, (6-31)

130 - Tyler Schaefer (S) won by fall in 1:37 over Michael Mohr (SL), (6-37)

119 - Ryan Edwardson (S) won 5-3 OT dec. over Chris Rios (SL), (6-40)

135 - Jose Diaz (SL) won by fall in 2:25 over Paige Storm (S), (12-40)

145 - Matt Wilkerson (S) won by fall in :33 over Ryan Lovstad (SL), (12-46)

140 - Justin Hargrave (S) won 16-4 major dec. over Patrick Higgins (SL), (12-50)

160 - Tony Pertzborn (SL) won by fall in 1:34 over John Bendlin (S), (18-50)

152 - Ben Seaman (SL) won 4-3 dec. over Jacob Zobrist (S), (21-50)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.