[Masthead] Overcast ~ 41°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Tornado matmen fall to E'burg, SLP in league opener

Monday, December 10, 2007

The Storm Lake wrestling team played host to Emmetsburg and Spirit Lake Park Thursday in Lakes Conference-opening double dual action at Tornado Fieldhouse, falling to the E'Hawks 47-22 before losing to the Indians 50-26.

Other than Jared Brashears and Michael Mohr recording forfeit victories, Patrick Higgins (140 pounds) and Jorge Hernandez (285) had the lone Tornado conquests against Emmetsburg.

"We did not wrestle our best in this meet; we put ourselves in bad position in some of the matches that we lost," said Tornadoes coach Ty Seaman. "We also need to finish matches in the third period. Again we found things that we need to go back and work on in practice.

"Mostly we just need to take what we're doing in practice and take it to the meets."

Seaman said the Tornadoes wrestled better against the Indians.

"We stayed in better position and wrestled our match," he said. "We were aggressive yet waited for good opportunities to score and took advantage of those chances."

Higgins had a standout night, earning a major decision over Emmetsburg's Joey Brandenburg (14-2) and a technical fall over Spirit Lake Park's Brandon Griffin (16-1).

Hernandez and Ryan Lovstad (145) both won matches by fall.

"Patrick Higgins wrestled two good matches tonight and I thought Ryan Lovstad and Jake Larson also did a nice job in their matches," Seaman said.

Larson (215) picked up a 12-5 decision in the second meet.

Storm Lake (1-3, 0-2 Lakes) is at the Emmetsburg Invitational at noon today.


Emmetsburg 47, Storm Lake 22

103 - Jared Brashears (SL) won by forfeit

112 - Justin Firkins (E) won by forfeit

119 - Jordan Cody (E) pinned Chris Rios

125 - Jake Stubbs (E) dec. Joel Figueroa, 12-5

130 - Nate Schany (E) dec. Jose Diaz, 12-8

135 - Michael Mohr (SL) won by forfeit

140 - Patrick Higgins (SL) major dec. Joey Brandenburg, 14-2

145 - Matt Stillman (E) major dec. Ryan Lovstad, 21-9

152 - Joey Naig (E) dec. Ben Seaman, 9-2

160 - Tyler Schmeling (E) dec. Tony Pertzborn, 14-8

171 - Jake Morris (E) pinned Paco Vazquez

189 - R. Christiansen (E) pinned Michael Eades

215 - Adam Leuer (E) pinned Jake Larson

285 - Jorge Hernandez (SL) pinned T. Morris

Spirit Lake Park 50, Storm Lake 26

103 - Lewis Johnson (SPL) won by forfeit

112 - Brashears (SL) won by forfeit

119 - Rios (SL) won by forfeit

125 - Derrick Miner (SPL) pinned Brian Gomez, 1:14

130 - Dillon Miner (SPL) pinned Mohr, 1:24

135 - G. Willard (SPL) dec. Diaz, 6-0

140 - Higgins (SL) T-Fall Brandon Griffin, 16-1

145 - Lovstad (SL) pinned Matt Krogman, 4:21

152 - N. Schultze (SPL) T-Fall Seaman, 22-7

160 - Nolan Meyer (SPL) pinned Pertzborn

171 - T. Ahrenstorf (SPL) pinned Vazquez, 5:24

189 - Kyle Kruger (SPL) pinned Eades, 1:15

215 - Larson (SL) dec. A. Dreeszen, 12-5

285 - Alex Will (SPL) pinned Hernandez, 1:55

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: