[Masthead] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 44°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Buena Vista lands four players on all-Iowa Conference grid squad

Thursday, November 15, 2007

The Buena Vista football team was represented with four members on this year's all-Iowa Conference Football Teams as announced by the league office on Wednesday.

Cody Pierce, Randy Kaufmann, Michael Sly and Chris Hawkins were all recognized for their respective performances this season.

Pierce highlights the list of Beavers by being named to the First Team Defense for the second consecutive season.

The Spencer native led BVU in tackles this season (120), including 11 for a loss. The senior linebacker was fourth in the league, averaging 12 tackles per outing, and finished his career with 364 total tackles. His best effort of the year came against Coe College when he registered 22 tackles, including 14 solo.

Kaufmann landed a spot on the Second Team Offense while Sly was named to the league's Second Team Defense.

Kaufmann, a Harlan native, led the Beavers in catches (42), receiving yards (544), and touchdowns (4). The senior receiver's best performance of the season came when he tallied six catches for 119 yards and three touchdowns in a 42-7 BVU victory over Cornell College.

Sly, a Grimes native, finished fourth on the team in tackles with 65, including 11 for a loss. The redshirt junior safety turned in a season-high 16 tackles in the team's season-opening victory against Bethel, while also returning an interception 48 yards for a touchdown. Sly received First Team Defensive accolades a year ago.

Hawkins landed a spot on the Honorable Mention Team following his strong, record-setting senior campaign at signal caller. The Platte City, Mo., native became the program's all-time career and single-season passing yardage leader, while also breaking the team's single-season and career passing attempts and completions records.

His best effort this season also came against Cornell when he tied the conference record, while breaking the school record, for most touchdown passes in a game with six. He finished with 15 touchdown passes this season - five shy of equaling the single-season mark. He threw for over 200 yards six times, including a season-best 332 yards against Loras, in the team's come-from-behind 30-24 victory.

Central College's senior quarterback Tim Connell, and head coach Jeff McMartin were named the league's MVP and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Buena Vista finished its season 5-5 overall (3-5 IIAC).


First Team Offense

OL - Ben Hogan (Sr, Wartburg); Jon Stavast (Sr, Luther); Spencer Remick (Jr, Central); Steve Coleman (Jr, Dubuque); Mike Fielding (Sr, Dubuque)

QB - Tim Connell (Sr, Central); Jermar Jackson (Sr, Dubuque)

RB - Tyler Sherdan (Sr, Luther); Adam Reutzel (Jr, Simpson)

WR - Trent Kain (Sr, Simpson); Cody Huisman (Sr, Central); Josh Smith (Sr, Central)

First Team Defense

DL - Eric Bruhn (Sr, Wartburg); Jordan Wilkens (Jr, Coe); Travis Strowbridge (Jr, Dubuque); Nico Botembe (Jr, Wartburg)

LB - Kyle Goodchild (Jr, Wartburg); Brock Hall (Sr, Loras); Cody Pierce (Sr, Buena Vista); Chris Gustafson (Sr, Cornell)

DB - Nick Weber (Sr, Wartburg); Guy Dierikx (Sr, Central); Mark Mashburn (Sr, Dubuque); Tom Breitbach (Jr, Coe)

First Team Specialists

PK - Bill Nelson (Sr, Simpson)

P - Kurtis Brondyke (Fr, Central)

RS - Tom Breitbach (Jr, Coe)

Second Team Offense

OL - Keith Bowers (Sr, Central); Nick Leerhoff (Sr, Coe); Landon Lewellen (Sr, Simpson); Spencer Allen (Sr, Luther); Shane Eaglin (Sr, Cornell)

QB - Andy TeKippe (Sr, Coe)

RB - Alex McGrew (Jr, Loras); Josh Van Rees (Sr, Wartburg)

RB/WR - Neil Suckow (Sr, Wartburg)

WR - Randy Kaufmann (Sr, Buena Vista); Torrey Smith (Sr, Dubuque)

TE - Ryan Hoerner (Jr, Wartburg)

Second Team Defense

DL - Nick Mulder (Sr, Central); Jordan Pinckney (Jr, Coe); Zach Wilker (Sr, Loras); Luke Stover (Jr, Simpson)

LB - Andrew Lehn (Sr, Central); Tate Harrison (So, Coe); Tim Stover (Jr, Simpson); Eric Lauterbach (Jr, Wartburg)

DB - Michael Sly (Jr, Buena Vista); Brett Doud (Sr, Central); Jason Lansing (Jr, Wartburg); Josh Faaborg (Jr, Wartburg)

Second Team Specialists

PK - Tyler Pease (Sr, Luther)

P - Stevan Kingery (Jr, Wartburg)

RS - Nick Weber (Sr, Wartburg)

Honorable Mention

Chris Hawkins (Sr, QB, Buena Vista); Gret Altmaier (Sr, LB, Central); Guy Dierikx (Sr, RS, Central); Jeremy Squires (Sr, DB, Coe); Travion Hardman (Jr, RB, Cornell); Orlando Walton (Jr, DB, Dubuque); Brandon Stout (Sr, OL, Dubuque); Adam Burken (Jr, TE, Dubuque); Bob Roe (Sr, OL, Loras); Marcus Hendrickson (Sr, LB, Luther); Bill Nelson (Sr, P, Simpson); Jake Wilke (Fr, OL, Wartburg); Kyle Norton (Jr, OL, Wartburg); Kyle Duchman (Sr, WR, Wartburg); Spencer Herzberg (Jr, PK, Wartburg)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: