SL puts three on all-district team

Thursday, August 9, 2007

Nine area athletes have landed on the state's softball all-district teams.

Morgan Darrow, Slone Masters and Amanda Proczak made the 3A West Iowa all-district team for Storm Lake.

Among 3A state tournament performers, Darrow stood out in several areas.

The senior pitcher's .556 batting average was the highest of anyone hitting more than once. She gave up one earned run for a 0.45 ERA, which tied her with Saydel pitcher Christina Bradley. She was the only starting pitcher to not give up an extra base hit, and offensively she was second in total hits and in total bases in the 3A tourney field.

Darrow finished the year with a 0.99 ERA, 220 strikeouts, a 30-7 record and a .390 batting average.

Masters, a freshman catcher and the Lakes Conference batting champ, hit a team-best .428 for the Tornadoes with 71 hits, 41 runs and 23 RBIs.

Proczak, a junior first baseman, hit .400 with team bests in home runs (3), RBIs (48) and doubles (11).

The district's coach of the year was Lisa Connell of Harlan.

Beth Ehlers and Brooke Scharn made the 2A Northwest Iowa all-district team for Sioux Central.

Ehlers, a senior catcher, hit .397, while Scharn, a freshman pitcher, went 27-9 with a 0.93 ERA.

Akron-Westfield's Todd Colt was the district's coach of the year.

In Class 1A, Laurens-Marathon's Bryn Johnson and Brynn Larson and Newell-Fonda's Lauren Devereaux and Susan Kies made the North Central Iowa all-district team.

Johnson, a senior pitcher who ended her career with 100 pitching wins, went 29-4 while posting the Pilot-Tribune area's best ERA, 0.65. Larson, a senior catcher, hit .298.

Devereaux, a sophomore pitcher, went 24-5 with a 1.18 ERA, while Kies, a freshman outfielder, hit .381.

Teresa Schwartz of WCLT was named the district's coach of the year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: