[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 50°F  
High: 53°F ~ Low: 43°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

SLHS wrestlers split double dual in Holstein

Monday, February 5, 2007

AGH sweeps to win at home

The Storm Lake High wrestlers split a pair of dual meets here Tuesday hosted by AGH, losing to the Pirates but beating Alta.

In the 53-15 win over Alta, SL winners were Paul Inthakone (major decision), Jared Brashears (fall), Jose Diaz (forfeit), Patrick Higgins (decision), Ryan Lovstad (forfeit), Keith Wolf (forfeit), Ben Seaman (decision), Paco Vazquez (forfeit), Nate Tucker (fall), Juan Flores (major decision) and Adam Davis (decision).

In the 55-22 loss to AGH, Storm Lake winners were Inthakone (forfeit), Brashears (forfeit), Nate Tucker (pin) and Juan Flores (major decision).

"Overall we wrestled well in this triangular meet," Tornado coach Ty Seaman said. "AGH has a real nice team but we were hurt not having Daniel Higgins and Cole Raglen in our lineup.

"We also lost a couple of matches in the AGH meet that I really think we could have won," he added. "We need to improve our mental preparation and approach as much as anything. We need to be winning the close matches.

"I felt in the Alta meet a couple of matches we weren't as intense as we needed to be."

AGH won the triangular after scoring a win over Alta. The following are the results of Storm Lake's duals vs. Alta and AGH.

Storm Lake High 53,

Alta 15

103 - Paul Inthakone (SL) major decision over J. Larson (Alta), 14-1

112 - Josh Sager (Alta) won by forfeit

119 - Jared Brashears (SL) pinned C. Duhn (Alta), 1 minute, 27 seconds.

125 - Jose Diaz (SL) won by forfeit

130 - Patrick Higgins (SL) dec. R. Sawyer (Alta), 3-2

135 - Scott Robbins (Alta) dec. Kelly Evans (SL), 5-3

140 - Ryan Lovstad (SL) won by forfeit

145 - Keith Wolf (SL) won by forfeit

152 - Ben Seaman (SL) dec. A. Parceo (Alta), 9-5

160 - Paco Vazquez (SL) won by forfeit

171 - Nate Tucker (SL) pinned R. Sauter (Alta), 3:51.

189 - Matt Sefcik (Alta) won by forfeit

215 - Juan Flores (SL) maj. dec. M. Sefcik (Alta), 13-5

285 - Adam Davis (SL) dec. Morgan VanHouten (Alta), 9-5

AGH 55

Storm Lake 22

103 - Paul Inthakone (SL) won by forfeit

112 - Ryan Donahoo (AGH) won by forfeit

119 - Jared Brashears (SL) won by forfeit

125 - A. Parker (AGH) maj. dec. Jose Diaz (SL), 13-3

130 - Steve White (AGH) pinned Patrick Higgins (SL), 5:37

135 - Kyle Yearous (AGH) dec. Ryan Lovstad (SL), 6-4

140 - Mike White (AGH) won by forfeit

145 - Andrew Perry (AGH) pinned Keith Wolf (SL), 4:52

152 - Bryce Dean (AGH) pinned Ben Seaman (SL), 2:36

160 - Nate Tucker (SL) pinned S. Galvin (AGH), 2:42

171 - Austin Todd (AGH) won by forfeit

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: