[Masthead] Overcast and Windy ~ 45°F  
High: 46°F ~ Low: 41°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Stately speech students

Tuesday, January 30, 2007

State large group speech contests will be held Saturday at the Fort Dodge High School.

Storm Lake High School, St. Mary's and Aurelia High School students did extremely well in competition at the district contest held Jan. 20.

SLHS participated in 16 events at districts and 11 will go on. These are the students and their areas that will compete in the state contests:

(Those marked with a star are competing in more than one event.)

Ensemble Acting - Coy Clark, Darren Johnson*, Keaton Murphy*, Michael Schulz*

Ensemble Acting - Nick Crippin*, Heather Douglas, Jacob Lyon*

Ensemble Acting - Marjie Halverson, Katie Shevel, Kim Thayer

Musical Theatre - Emily Gutz, Alison Hixon*, Juvenal Soria*, Ashley Wolf*

Musical Theatre -Nick Crippin*, Ali Kofmehl*

Group Improv - Jackie Donkhong*, Erick Stephas

Group Improv - Spencer Darrow*, Thomas Patton, Casey Schultz, Ashley Wolf*

Group Improv - Ali Kofmehl*, Amanda Olerich, Katie Overturf, Amanda Proczak, Amber Woodford

Choral Reading - Jacie Dahlstrom, Morgan Darrow, Spencer Darrow, Kristi Davis, Katie Demers, Lauren Hall, Alison Hixon*, Mary Mooney, Keaton Murphy*, Tyler Reinert, Collin Schultz*, Abbey Smith*, Kelly Smith*, Juvenal Soria*, Sally Stark

Readers Theatre - Steph Emery, Priscilla Rebollozo*, Caycee Reis*, Rachel Riedesel, Julie Thabonsouk, Kayla Vetter, Marina Villarreal, Audrey Wells*

Solo Mime - Jackie Donkhong*

The SLHS speech coaches are Cindy Cone and Glee Crippin.

Everyone is invited to the Showcase of Speech Tuesday, Feb. 20, 7-9 p.m. at South Auditorium, where students will share their district and state pieces.

Three St. Mary's High school large group speech groups will move on to State competition in Fort Dodge on Saturday. Those groups are: the improvisation rookie group of Jennifer Dimig, Matt Lange, Bailey Cavanaugh and Weston Pickhinke; improvisation team of Justin Cullen, Erin Broich and rookie Tasha Drey; and choral reading group Jessica Lussman, Abby Richardson, Becky Lenhart, Emily Godfredson, Annette Frank, Angie Wells, Molly Larsen, Camille Pickhinke, Rylee Paterson, Justin Cullen, Jon Foell and Tasha Drey.

Five other entries received 'II' ratings.

St. Mary's large group speech participants for 2007 are: (as pictured left in no particular order - Abby Richardson, Becky Lenhart, Emily Godfredson, Jessica Lussman, Janie Imming, Erin Broich, Sarah Dimig, Jon Foell, Katie Wilson, Molly Larsen, Jenny Welch, Christine Pudenz, Nicholette Luhmann, Komi Othow, Justin Cullen, Rylee Paterson, Angie Wells, Ryan Drey, Camille Pickhinke, Annette Frank, Makenzie Rhode, Christine Becker, Leigh VanderWoude, Doug Dimig, Tasha Drey, Matt Lange, Jennifer Dimig, Bailey Cavanaugh, Weston Pickhinke.

Speech coach is Sara Carlson.

Seven of Aurelia's eight large group speech entries earned division I ratings at district contest in Laurens advancing them to state competition.

The seven groups included all 33 of AHS's speech students, so the entire group will be going on to state. The groups advancing are improv, radio news, two ensemble acting groups, choral reading, readers theater, and group mime. Denise Nicodemus is the speech coach.

Pictured at right are Aurelia speech students: Front row: Steven Rupp, Christa Corderman. Second row: Kayla Ballantyne, Tara Fordyce, Kristine Munden, Priscilla Otto, Kristine Daly, Amanda Loucks, Philip Winterhof, Tanner Winterhof. Third row: Tiffany Johnson, Seth Bruce, Megan Janssen, Jodi Huseman, Lanaya Kannegieter, Steven Draisy. Fourth row: Chelsea Loucks, Aaron Bruce, Jordan Glawe, Cassie Sleezer, Tempestt McClellan, Desiree Thatcher. Back row: Heather Ballantyne, Erin Laursen, Amanda Felten, Stacie Glienke, Matt Todd, Marissa Glawe, Amanda Swanson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: