Alta's Letzring, Rebels' Lindquist make state

Monday, October 23, 2006

Alta runner Jordan Letzring's timing was perfect here Thursday at a Class 1A District meet.

The Cyclone senior had his best race of the season, taking second overall by finishing the 5,000 meter course in 17 minutes, 2 seconds.

By placing second and finishing among the ten top individuals, Letzring will run in the 1A State Meet Oct. 28 in Fort Dodge.

Sioux Central's Connor Lindquist also qualified for state, taking tenth place in 17:24.60. Galva-Holstein's Caleb Egger qualified, taking third in 17:10.3.

Eric TenNapel of West Sioux-Hawarden won the individual district championship, taking first in 16:41.50.

Meanwhile, Letzring beat four runners who had beaten him three or four times each during the regular season. They were BC-IG's Pete Hoffman, Ar-We-Va's Jim Vonnahme, Aaron Vosbeerg of Prairie Valley and Lindquist..

All four of those runners placed in the top ten, with Hoffman fourth, Vonnahme fifth, Vosberg eighth, and Lindquist tenth.

As a team, Alta took ninth with 284 points. The top three team finishers and state team qualifiers were: Woodbine, first with 91 points; West Sioux-Hawarden, second with 94; and Ar-We-Va Westside, third with 104 points.

Individually for the Cyclones, Tyler Sliefert was 32nd in 18:47; Adam Holton, 79th in 20:12; Robert Maharry, 83rd in 20:17; Nick Sand, 88th in 20:27; Kenny Bishop, 112th in 21:28 and Jeremy Carlson, 115th in 22.07.

"We ran well as a team," Alta coach Wendell Larson said. "We had some runners really come on in the last few meets.

"Jordan Letzring has worked hard all season long," he added. "Second out of 137 runners is an awesome accomplishment. I know he'll represent himself at state very well. I'm also very proud of all my runners."

Last season as a junior, Letzring placed 13th at districts, just three places from the state meet.

"That really lit the fire under him," Larson said.

The coach added that Letzring ran with the front pack during the entire race, finishing the first mile in 10 minutes, 30 seconds.

"His goal was to finish the first mile in 11 minutes," Larson said. "He also kept an eye on the second and third runners, then eventually passed them."

The Cyclones were one runner short of a full girls team. Leading the way for the Alta girls was Nicole Connolly, who took 60th in 19:35. Ariel Turnquist was 72nd in 20:05, Anne Curbow, 85th in 20:39, and Megan Suhr, 88th in 20:41.

The top three girls teams and state team qualifiers were: Algona Garrigan, first with 76 points; South O'Brien, second with 117 points and Pocahontas Area, third with 166 points.

The top three individual finishers were: Madeline Musilek of West Sioux-Hawarden, first in 16 minutes flat, Michelle Hubbard of Pocahontas Area, 16:19, and Britny Dean of Westwood, third in 16:23. Jahde Boyle of Galva-Holstein was a state qualifier, taking ninth in 16:38.

Also for the Sioux Central boys, Marshall Wernimont waqs 39th in 18:59, Andrew Lichter 43rd in 19:08 and Andy Saunders was 48th in 19:12.

Mark Saunders took 52nd in 19:14, while Mike Britton was 68th in 19:40

Junior Tory Clark led Schaller -Crestland with a 26th place finish in 18:31, and his teammate Ben Currie was 36th in 18:54.

Leading the Laurens-Marathon boys was David Jones, who took 49th in 19:12.30. Other Charger runners, their places and times were: Matt Hertz, 65th in 19:36; Bennett Bargloff, 67th in 19:39; Tyler Koenig, 73rd in 19:53; CJ. Mayou, 74th in 19:57, and Justin Depew, 102nd in 20:51.

Leading the 6th place Sioux Central girls was Brittny Rehbuhn, 15th in 17:46.88. Senior Briana Scharn was 24th in 18:03, with Jennifer Rushton taking 37th in 18:36. Rebel senior Shana Hamilton was 76th in 10:10.88 and Rachel Henningson 83rd in 20:30.77.

The Laurens-Marathon girls finished 12th as a team.

Charger runners, their places and times, were: Megan Hofmaster, 42nd in 18:59; Kolesa Herrig, 96th in 21:09; Krista Fredricks, 99th in 21:24; Nikki Cox, 106th in 22:02, and Kelsey Fredricks, 108th in 22:21.

Sophomore Molly Sippel was Schaller-Crestland's only runner in the girls race and finished 63rd in 19:39.

For the Aurelia girls team, Erin Laursen was 82nd in 20:28. Jessica Mann was 91st in 20:52 and Desiree Thatcher 113th in 23:04.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: