[Masthead] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

New 4-Banger class added at BV Raceway

Monday, August 28, 2006

After taking one week off because of rainy weather, racing action continued at Buena Vista Raceway on a beautiful and full night of racing this past Wednesday night. "One week earlier that was not the case," said promoter Lee Meyer.

"With the season winding down, we really don't want to miss any nights, so we will do whatever it takes to get a program in, but last week it just wasn't to be."

With an additional week to prepare the racetrack, the outcom couldn't have been better time, added Meyer.

Ninety-two race teams plus a new 4-Banger class, plus special races highlighted the evening during the First Cooperative Night at the raceway.

"We have been looking around at what other tracks are running, so we thought we would step up and start a 4-Cylinder class of our own," Meyer said. "We can get some interest in the class during our remaining nights, so we will be off and running with it next year."

Seven new drivers were on hand to compete in the new division when the checkered flag was thrown. Elijah Zevenbergen from Ocheyedan was the first feature winner in this division, with Brandon Ostwald second.

The evening was filled with close, two and three wide racing through the entire evening. Some new winners put their cars in victory lane in week 18.

Jeff Herrig and Jason Mickelson were two drivers who had not visited victory lane since 2002 and 2004, respectively.

Herrig, who has been racing at the Buena Vista Raceway off and on, visited victory lane during week 13 in 2002.

Mickelson saw his last victory come in August of 2004. Herrig took the lead on the opening lap of the Fitzpatrick Auto Center I.M.C.A. Modified feature, then held off the hard -charging Jay Noteboom for the victory in a green to checkered twenty-lap event.

Mickelson started in the eighth spot in the Scooters Bar & Grill I.M.C.A. Stock Car feature. He watched the lead change hands twice before he took the lead on lap four. A yellow flag on lap eleven was the only thing that slowed Mickelson down on this night. Finishing second was Brian Blessington.

Austin Lucas found a way to get by his brother Brandon in the Storm Lake Honda Artic Cat 360 B-Mod feature. Tony Ross grabbed the lead on the opening lap before Brandon Lucas took the top spot on lap three. Austin Lucas didn't have the lead until the No. 9 car made the pass for the lead on lap nine in this green to checkered flag event. Point leader Dan Hanselman finished third, followed by Mike Bailey in his his third best finish of the season.

It took two tries before the green flag came out in the Storm Lake Truck & Trailer I.M.C.A. Hobby Stock feature. Doug Smith was the early leader before brother Dustin took the lead for good, gaining his seventh feature win of the year. His brother Donovan finished second, followed by Kyle Timmerman and Trent Murphy.

Devin Smith took the lead from Ramon Luna on lap two of the Rasmussen Ford BVR Bomber feature and coasted to victory and his tenth win of the season. Next Wednesday night will be season championships at the raceway with racing action starting at 6:45 with hot-laps.

The night's first event starts at 7:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: