[Masthead] Fair ~ 59°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Dollars for Scholars elects leadership

Monday, August 28, 2006

The local Dollars for Scholars chapter recently elected its leadership for the 2006-2007 school year. Ann Mackrill-Wilson will serve as President, along with Mike Porsch as Vice President, Ann Roth as Secretary and Leann Baumhover as treasurer. Joining the board as new board members are Judy Arnfeldt, Steve Brashears, Craig Fratzke, and Anne Gallagher. Joining as new student board members are Doug Dimig and Ashley Miller from Storm Lake St. Mary's and Spencer Darrow and Katharine Hott from Storm Lake High School.

Founded in 1985, Storm Lake Dollars for Scholars raises funds locally to be distributed as scholarships to graduating seniors from St. Mary's High and Storm Lake High. Scholarships awarded are intended to not only provide financial assistance to graduating seniors, but a community "pat on the back" as well. The size of the scholarships is approximately equal to the first semester's book fees at a college, university or vocational institution.

The annual fund drive for Dollars for Scholars will begin in mid October. Board officers and members will be contacting potential contributors through a letter/telephone campaign this fall. Anyone interested in donating to Dollars for Scholars may do so by sending a tax-deductible contribution to Dollars for Scholars, 119 W. 6th St., Storm Lake, Iowa 50588.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: