[Masthead] A Few Clouds ~ 68°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 52°F
Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2016

SLHS wrestlers edge Dutch, fall to MMC

Thursday, January 26, 2006

The Storm Lake High wrestling team split a pair of dual meets on its home mat Tuesday, edging MOC/Floyd Valley 42-30 but losing to Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn 49-23.

"We were happy to get a win in our first meet and there were some exciting matches down the stretch in our second meet that we didn't wrestle well in," said SLHS coach Ty Seaman.

"We failed to get a good start from the down position; we need a better first move," he added. "Overall, we wrestled OK but we need to pick up the intensity and wrestle hard for the full six minutes."

Seaman, meanwhile, will get his team ready for Friday's Lakes Conference meet in LeMars.

"We want to be at our best in that meet," he said. "It's not the most important meet of the year but we need to score at every weight to do well as a team. We hope to finish in top five."

The following are the results for Storm Lake wrestlers in the two dual meets Tuesday night.

Storm Lake 42,

MOC/Floyd Valley 30

145 - Jeremy Eade (MOC) dec. Keith Wolf (SL), 12-5

152 - Tony Bedel (SL) tech. fall Seth Plendl (MOC), 4:46

160 - Lucas Plendl (MOC) pinned Nate Tucker (SL), 2:31.

171 - Geoff Dalman (MOC) pinned Brendan Miller (SL)1:53

189 - Logan Huisman (MOC) pinned Justin Leewright (SL), 4:10

215 - Ryan Whitt (MOC) dec. Juan Flores (SL), 8-6

275 - Tyler DeGrotenuis (MOC) won by forfeit

103 - Jared Brashears (SL) pinned Chris Gianopuolos (MOC), 1:10.

112 - Chris Rios (SL) won by forfeit

119 - Cole Raglan (SL) dec. Jesse Jasper (MOC), 7-2

125 - Kelly Evans (SL) won by forfeit

130 - Ryan Lovstad (SL) pinned Casey Fedders (MOC), 1:01

135 - Pete Winterton (SL) won by forfeit

140 - Daniel Higgins (SL) dec. Theo Blankers, 11-9.

MMC 49

Storm Lake 23

160 - Jeremy Letsche (MMC) pinned Nate Tucker (SL), 1:22.

171 - Kyle Kohn (MMC) won by forfeit

189 - Logan White (SL) dec. Jordan Petersen (MMC), 8-6

215 - Juan Flores (SL) pinned Luke Dreckman (MMC), 1:36

275 - Jordan Rasmus (MMC) won by forfeit

103 - Jared Brashears (SL) tech. fall Todd Godbersen (MMC) 15-0

112 - Blaine Dammann (MMC) pinned Chris Rios (SL), 4:46

119 - Jacob Lehnhoff (MMC) dec. Jose Diaz (SL), 8-0

125 - Mitch Erdman (MMC) pinned Kelly Evans (SL), 2:44

130 - Ryan Lovstad (SL) pinned Joey Brady (MMC), 3:15

135 - Daniel Higgins (SL) dec. Jared Letsche (MMC), 10-6

140 - Tory Johnson (MMC) won by forfeit

145 - Ben Mayer (MMC) dec. Ben Seaman (SL), 9-2

152 - Eric Reuter (MMC) pinned Tony Bedel (SL), 5:20.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: