[Masthead] Fair ~ 59°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Three Alta wrestlers win titles at NW Conference meet

Tuesday, January 17, 2006

TRV wins eight weights to capture NW conference title

Twin River Valley wrestlers won first places in eight weights here Saturday in the Northwest Conference meet, taking first as a team with 241.5 points.

Graettinger-Terril was second with 199.5 points, followed by Alta with 189 points and Schaller-Crestland with 164 points. Sioux Central took sixth with 64 points.

Alta wrestlers winning first placeswere Scott Robbins at 125 pounds, Brandon Piercy at 140 pounds and Morgan Van Houten at 215 pounds.

In their championship matches, Robbins pinned Sioux Central's Tyler Herrig, who took second overall. Piercy won a decision over Kass Schany of Graettinger-Terrill and Van Houten pinned Russell Weller of Pomeroy-Palmer.

The only champion for Schaller-Crestland was 135 pounder Mark McDonough, who pinned Twin River Valley's Andrew Miller for first place.

Also for Alta, Josh Sager took fourth at 119 pounds, while at 112, Cody Hunter took second after being pinned by G-T's Alex Helmlich in the title match.

Alta's Ryan Sawyer was second at 119, losing the championship match when TRV's Jon Behounek won via pin.

Alta's Scott Launderville took fourth place at 130, while at 145, Alta's Chris Glienke added a fourth place.

At 152, Alta's Joey Kelm took fourth, and at 189, Mannie Kelm added fourth-place finish. At 275, Alta's Jake Syndergaard took third.

For Schaller-Crestland Brett Pryor took second at 125, with 145 pounder Cory Naberhaus taking a third place. Wildcat wrestler Matt Tielbur was third at 152, Jeremy Robley second at 160, Zach Stephens third at 171, Garrett Barlow second at 189, Brance Frehse fourth at 215 and Michael Weber second at 275.

At 160 Schaller-Crestland's Robley lost the championship match to Cody Benjamin of TRB via decision.

At 189, Wilcdcat wrestler Garrett Barlow was pinned in the championship match by Ashton Wagner of TRV. In the heavyweight match, Schaller-Crestland's Weber lost by decision to Jake Brown of Graettinger-Terrill.

Sioux Central was led by Herrig at 125.

He took second place after being pinned in the title match by Alta's Robbins.

Also for the Rebels, Luke Peterson took fourth at 135, while at 140, Marshall Wernimont took third place.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: