[Masthead] Fair ~ 55°F  
High: 85°F ~ Low: 47°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

County 4-H'ers honored with annual awards

Thursday, November 17, 2005

Several Buena Vista County 4-Her's were recognized and honored at the 2005 Buena Vista County 4-H Awards and Recognition on Sunday, Nov. 13. The program was held at the St. Mark Lutheran Church fellowship hall in Storm Lake and was hosted by the Providence 4-H Club and the B.V. Clovers 4-H Club.

4-H'ers received recognition for holding club offices, being a member for one, five, eight or 10 years and for completing a record keeping system, says Rhonda K. Christensen, County Extension Education director for ISU Extension in Buena Vista County.

Junior 4-H members applied for 4-H project awards by submitting their record books to the 4-H Executive Committee and illustrating personal growth, citizenship, and leadership in a project area. Those receiving project awards were: Beef: Katie Sievers (Fairfield Pioneers) and Andrew Chindlund (Providence); Cat: JR Thompson (Newell Boosters); Child Development: Jill Christiansen; Clothing: Katie Sievers (Fairfield Pioneers), Felicia Winkel (Newell Achievers), Les Turnquist (Maple Valley Motivators); Dairy: Marcus Hinkeldey (MVA); Home Improvement: Katie Sievers (Fairfield Pioneers), Jill Christiansen, Cayla Egesdal and Felicia Winkel (Newell Achievers); Horticulture: Mitch Sievers (Fairfield Pioneers); Music: Austin Ehlers, (Newell Boosters); Poultry: Anyssa Lenhart (Providence); Small Animal: Josh Hanson (Fairfield Pioneers); Visual Arts: Cayla Egesdal (Newell Achievers), Lesa Turnquist (Maple Valley Motivators); Citizenship: Jill Christiansen, Felicia Winkel (Newell Achievers), Jennifer Carlson (MVA), Alyssa Sievers (Providence), Lesa Turnquist (Maple Valley Motivators); Communication: Austin Ehlers (Newell Boosters), Marcus Hinkeldey (MVA); Food and Nutrition: Katie Sievers, Jarod Hanson (Fairfield Pioneers) Austin Ehlers (Newell Boosters), Alyssa Sievers (Providence), Jennifer Carlson, Marcus Hinkeldey (MVA); Horse and Pony: Katie Christensen (Fairfield Pioneers); Leadership: Lesa Turnquist (Maple Valley Motivators); Photography: Cayla Egesdal, Felicia Winkel (Newell Achievers), Jared Hanson, Josh Hanson, Chandler Johannsen (Fairfield Pioneers); Rabbit: Blake Jesse (Newell Boosters) Jennifer Carlson (MVA); Swine; Mitch Sievers (Fairfield Pioneers); Woodworking: Jarod Hanson, Josh Hanson (Fairfield Pioneers) and Austin Ehlers (Newell Boosters).

Seven Junior 4-H'ers were honored as "Outstanding Juniors." Selected for this special award were: Jill Christiansen (Newell Achivers), Nathan Lenhart (Providence), Chandler Johannsen and Mitch Sievers (Fairfield Pioneers), Blake Jesse and Austin Ehlers (Newell Boosters) and Lesa Turnquist (Maple Valley Motivators). Criteria for the selection include: the enthusiasm the 4-H'er displays in completing projects, participation in 4-H events other than their club events and overall enthusiasm. The "outstanding junior" winners received a special engraved bar for their 4-H plaque and a 4-H totebag, noted Tammi Green, County Youth Coordinator for ISU Extension in Buena Vista County.

Intermediate and Senior level 4-H members receiving project awards for their growth, leadership and citizenship included: Dairy: Stacie Glienke (MVA); Home Improvement: Katelyn Laursen (Newell Boosters); Beef: Chris Sievers (Fairfield Pioneers); and Food and Nutrition: Heather Nehring (MVA).

Master Producers were announced in the sheep, beef and swine discipline based on a points system which included the following: accurate and efficient records, cost of grain, daily rate of gain, return per dollar invested, feeding arrangements at home, and show placing at the 2005 County Fair. This year's master producers were: Master Sheep Producer: Luke Lenhart (Providence); Master Beef Producer: Matt Sievers (Newell Boosters); and Master Swine Producer: Erin Broich (Providence).

Several special awards were presented to intermediate and/or senior 4-H'ers for outstanding accomplishments in leadership, citizenship, personal growth and service to the 4-H program. Special Awards and the honoree included:

Junior Leadership which recognizes young people who have shown leadership skills and abilities through citizenship, club community service and unselfish service to others:

Stacie Glienke and Stephanie Carlson, (MVA).

Kiwanis Leadership, awarded by the Storm Lake Chapter of the Hy-Noon Kiwanis, to A 4-H'er whose accomplishments reflect significant personal growth, active citizenship, Club and community leadership, competency in project work and unselfish service to 4-H'ers and others: Sydni Williams (Providence).

Craig Sump Memorial Award, provided by Joyce Nehring, mother of the late Craig Sump. Craig was a 4-Her who had the ability to lead and motivate others through hard work and determination: Adam Glienke (MVA) and Amanda Meyer (Maple Valley Motivators).

Intermediate and Senior Achievement Award, given to a 4-H'er who has shown out-Standing personal growth through participation in a variety of 4-H projects and programs: Hannah Fordyce, Adam Glienke, Heather Nehring (MVA) and Katelyn Laursen (Newell Achievers).

Intermediate and Senior Merit Award, recognizes 4-H'ers whose accomplishments show significant personal growth, active citizenship, club and community leadership, competency to others in project work and unselfish service to members and others: Stacie Glienke, Adam Glienke and Heather Nehring (MVA) and Katie Demers (Providence).

Rafa Worthan Memorial Award presented by the Dean Worthan family in memory of their wife and mother, Rafa. To receive this award, a 4-Her must be a member for at least two years, be willing to work hard in the 4-H program, demonstrate a respect for all people and have potential leadership qualities. : Shelby Meyer (Maple Valley Motivators).

I Dare You, sponsored by the Danforth Foundation of St. Louis, recognizes a 4-Her's Leadership and citizenship in their club, community and country: Amanda Meyer (MapleValley Motivators).

Arlene Rohlk Food Prize Memorial, a new award this year provided by the family and friends in memory of Arlene Rohlk. Arlene was a former 10 year 4-H leader for the Maple Valley Majorettes 4-H Club, 4-H Volunteer and supporter of the 4-H program in Buena Vista County. The award is designed to recognize a 4-H'ers who has an interest in nutrition, health, and food preparation and has displayed significant growth in the food and nutrition project: Heather Nehring (MVA).

Winners of the special awards receive $50 savings bonds, except the Arlene Rohlk Food Prize Memorial, which is a $200 savings bond and the Rafa Worthan Memorial Award, where the recipient receives an interest check earned from the principal gift provided to the 4-H program in honor of Rafa.

Leaders, volunteers and a local business were also recognized for dedicated service to the 4-H program in Buena Vista County. Kathy Fahr, MVA 4-H Leader, was recognized for 15 years of service as a 4-H volunteer and Loren Fahr, MVA 4-H Leader, was recognized for 20 years of service as a 4-H volunteer in Buena Vista County.

Marty Broich was named 'Adult Volunteer of the Year,' for his work on the 4-H Special Swine project and other swine opportunities. Wal-Mart was named 'Business of the Year' for their long-time support of the MVA Pumpkin Patch coloring contest and donation of money towards bicycles.

Kathy Fahr was named as the Buena Vista County Hall of Fame Honoree and will also be honored at the 2006 Iowa State Fair during the 4-H Hall of Fame ceremony in the 4-H Exhibit building, according to Christensen.

For more information about the 2005 4-H Awards program or 4-H programs and opportunties, contact Green or Christensen, at 712-732-5056.