[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 64°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 63°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Education Briefs

Tuesday, October 11, 2005

Hy-Vee introduces 'Smiles for Education'

Hy-Vees "Smiles for Education" promotion, honoring the 75th anniversary of the store, is in progress.

During the 10 weeks of this new program, Hy-Vee will hold a drawing to select 10 winning students. Each of those students will receive a free Apple iPod nano Player and each of their schools will receive a donation of up to $7,500 from Hy-Vee.

Parents, teachers and staff from local schools are asked to become part of the program by visiting the Storm Lake Hy-Vee and registering their student's names for the drawing on an official entry form. One winner will be drawn each week for 20 weeks from the entries in the store.

Demers named to honor roll

Amy Demers has been named to the honor roll at AIB College of Business for the 2005 summer term.

Demers is a graduate of Alta High School and is majoring in administrative professional for realtime reporting.

To be on the honor roll, a student must have a grade point average between 3.0 and 3.49 for 12 or more consecutive credit hours.

Botine earns Dean's List honors at BVU

Desiree Botine, Storm Lake, is one of 11 students named to the Dean's List for terms five and six at the Buena Vista University Lakes and Prairies Center at Spencer.

Botine received a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the two terms.

ACE members to be installed Wednesday

The Advanced Career Exploration (ACE) program at Storm Lake High School will hold its third initiation and installation ceremony for the 2005-06 members and officers on Wednesday at 2:45 p.m. in the high school media center. The keynote speaker will be Molly Wilson, co-owner of the Sugar Bowl Gift Shop and SLHS graduate.

Officers to be installed are: President - Drew Jones; Vice-president - Juvinal Soria; Secretary/Treasurer - Tiffany Segebart; Community Service Representative - Jesse Halder; Social Representative - Rachel Struck; and Marketing Agent - Kayla Dewey.

Other participants in the ceremony will include Dr. Paul Tedesco, SLCSD superintendent; Michael Hanna, SLHS principal; Pegg Havens, ACE Instructor; and Matt Semprini, SLHS student body president.

Following the ceremony, snacks will be provided by TAHER Food Service.

Special recognition will be given for the fourth anniversary of the opening of the Daily Grind Espresso Cart, the ACE student-run business at Storm Lake High School.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: