Nitchals, Brosamle, Nielsen all advance

Monday, February 26, 2001

DES MOINES - Matt Nitchals of Storm Lake, Jacob Brosamle of AGH and Jon Nielsen of Alta all advanced to the quarterfinal round at the Iowa state wrestling tournament.

Nitchals advanced with a 3-1 win over Craig Domeyer of Dyersville Beckman at 215 pounds. Brosamle won 10-7 over Doug Greving of Carroll Kuemper at 189. Nielsen was a winner by pin in 3 minutes, 51 seconds over Ryan Dillion of Alden at 152.

Nitchals, Brosamle and Nielsen wrestled in quarterfinal round matches Friday night.

Schaller-Crestland's Kelly Rydberg saw his perfect season end when he was pinned by Rock Valley's Tim Landegent in 5:53 at 135 pounds. Rydberg was then eliminated by Don Bosco's Eric Becker by pin in 2:41 in the consolation round.

Sioux Central 103-pounder Richie Thacker lost by pin in 3:40 in the first round, but won 6-4 in the consolation round.

Schaller-Crestland's Mike McDonough suffered an 8-2 setback in the first round, but won 7-6 in the consolation round to stay alive.

Schaller-Crestland's Wes Turnquist was pinned in 24 seconds by Lisbon's Ryan Fuller at 215 pounds. He was then eliminated after a 7-5 loss to Andrew Lansink of Battle Creek-Ida Grove in the consolation round.

AGH's Matt Gustafson was eliminated after a 6-2 loss in the consolation round.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: