[Masthead] Overcast ~ 45°F  
High: 50°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Education Briefs

Tuesday, April 12, 2005

ICCC presents awards

Iowa Central Community College held its annual "Night of Academic Excellence" program recently. Area Iowa Central Community College Honor Society inductees were: April Abbas, Marathon; Amanda Anderson, Storm Lake; Crystal Camerer, Alta; Linda Kolpin, Aurelia; Jane Larson, Storm Lake; Patricia Laverty, Fonda; Kelli Loats, Alta; Ryan Reiling, Sioux Rapids; Tammy Sonsken, Marathon; Dawn Speers, Alta; Melissa Temple, Newell; and Norma Weitzel, Sac City.

AmeriHost seeks 'Teacher of Year' nominations

AmeriHost Inn Storm Lake is proud to announce their annual Teacher of the Year Award. This essay contest begins April 11 and will conclude April 28.

Students are encouraged to summit their essay explaining why their teacher should be honored as the AmeriHost Inn Teacher of the Year. The essays will be read and evaluated by the AmeriHost Inn General Manager, Sharon Eddy and other community members or any other judges here.

The essays will be evaluated based on the portrayal of the teacher by the student. AmeriHost Inn Storm Lake is looking for how our teachers impact our students through the student's eyes.

The winning teacher will receive a complimentary one night's stay in a whirlpool suite at the AmeriHost Inn Storm Lake, dinner for two at a local restaurant, The Apple Award, a beautifully designed, engraved Award, and a framed copy of the essay for their dedication to our students and education in Storm Lake.

The winning essays author will receive a $50 savings bond and a one night's stay at the AmeriHost Inn Storm Lake in appreciation for their hard work.

Students of all Storm Lake's grade, middle school and high school students are encouraged to nominate their favorite teacher by essay. The nomination forms are available at the schools and the AmeriHost Inn Storm Lake. Nominations must be returned to the AmeriHost Inn, 1726 Lake Avenue at 732-1000 by April 28.

St. Mary's accepting applications for scholarship

St. Mary's Alumni Association is accepting applications for the Deb (McCoy - Class of 1967) Schall Memorial Scholarship for the 2005-06 school year.

Scholarships for St. Mary's School tuition are funded through the St. Mary's Annual Appeal and gifts from the Schall family and friends. Awards will be made based on need.

Schall was one of the original co-presidents of the alumni association and served in that position until her death in October 2003.

The number and amount of scholarships distributed will be determined by the number of applicants. Applications are available at the school administrative offices, the parish/school finance office and on-line at www.saintmarysalumni.org

The St. Mary's Alumni Association Board will determine award recipients. Deadline for applications is noon Friday. April 29.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: