Newell-Fonda's Schumann named to IGCA All-State squad

Tuesday, March 22, 2005

Newell-Fonda senior basketball player Jenn Schumann has been named to the Iowa Girls Coaches Assocation's Class 1A third all-state team.

This season, Schumann averaged 18.4 points per game and is a two-time Pilot-Tribune All-Area Player of the Year.

Meanwhile, Storm Lake High's record setting guard, senior Mel Fisher, was named to the IGCA, 3A, All Northwest District team.

Gaining first-team all state honors was Sac City guard Brittany Lange, who led the Indians to their second straight Northwest Conference title this season.

Also making the first team was Kala Kuhlmann of Charter Oak-Ute. Rockwell City-Lytton's senior post player Afton Ringgenberg made the Class 1A all state second team, as did Jessica Christians of George Little Rock.

In Class 2A, Cherokee's Autumn Bartel made the all-state first team while Kelsey Keizer of Okoboji also made that team. Making the Class 2A all state third team was Kayla Henke of Cherokee.

In Class 3A, former Storm Lake-St. Mary's student Katie Brown, now of Spirit Lake, made the all state second team. Jenna Koele of MOC/Floyd Valley also made that team.


Meanwhile, IGCA All-District Girls Basketball teams were also named early this week.

Schumann and Lange both made the 1A North Central All-District team along with Danny Lanning and Liz Trauger of Twin River Valley, Dani Berry of Sac City, Amanda Koop of Northest Hamilton, Jordan Stiles and Stephanie Borcherding of Rockwell-Swaledale and Ringgenberg from Rockwell City-Lytton.

Honored on the All-Northwest District team were Emily Schlinz of Galva-Holstein, Ashley Zevenbergen of Harris Lake Park, Brooke Oines of Lawton-Bronson, Dani Olerich of Odebolt-Arthur, Jenn Parsons of Clay Central-Everly, Christians of George Little Rock, Karin Remmerde of Rock Valley, Megan Torkelson of Graettinger-Terril, Rachel Hansen of Odebolt-Arthur and Roni Miller of Lawton Bronson.

In Class 2A, All Northwest District players were Bartel of Chrerokee, Katie Bobier of Akron-Westfield, Alicia Onnen of Manson Northwest Webster, Betsy Van't Hul of Hull Western Christian, Keizer of Okoboji, Randa Hulstein of Sioux Center, Kayla Henke of Cherokee, Brittany Williamson of Emmetsburg, and Bridget Yoeger of Hinton.

Other members of the IGCA 3A All-Northwest District team were Michelle Lund and Claire Goins of Sioux City Heelan, Alexa Mennen of Hampton-Dumont, Katie Brown of Spirit Lake, Jenna Koele of MOC/Floyd Valley, and Amy Prather of Forest City.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: