[Masthead] Fog/Mist and Breezy ~ 41°F  
High: 53°F ~ Low: 43°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Storm Lake, Aurelia DECA students fare well in district, state competition

Tuesday, March 8, 2005

Several earn way to nationals

Storm Lake and Aurelia High Schools offer to their students the opportunity to participate in the DECA program, an extra-curricular activitiy which fuses the curriculum of marketing, management and entrepreneurship.

The organization helps students develop leadership skills by offering the most extensive leadership develoment opportunities. The organization also promotes enterprise and entrepreneurship.

There are over 6,000 chapters located in all 50 states. The chapters in Storm Lake and Aurelia have been strong for several years and students have done quite well, competing in state and even national competitions.

Advisors for the two groups are Sue Mann, SLHS, and Patti Demers, AHS.

Prior to competition, students select a topic of interest from seven business-related categories. As part of the actual contest, the students take part in a written exam worth several points. Given a particular situation or problem that may be encountered in a real business, students have 10 minutes to prpeare for a response in front of a judge. These role plays are also worth several points.

The scores are added together and the three students with the top scores in each of the categories at the state level, go on to compete at the national event.

This year's national competition will be held in Anaheim, Calif., April 26-30. SLHS will be represented by six students and AHS will be represented by two students.

Storm Lake students receiving awards and recognition at the state competition, held Feb. 28-March 1 were:

(Names marked with * will advance to the national competition.)

Shannon Walsh - (Business Services Marketing), fifth place

Dustin Huffman - (Food Marketing), third place finalist

* Justin Frederick - (Food Marketing), third place mini award in role play 1, third place mini award in exam, second place finalist

* Anthony Moya - (Food Marketing), first place mini award in role play 2, first place finalist

Holly Goecke - (Retail Merchandising), first place mini award in role play 1, third place finalist

Raquel Burnside - (Retail Merchandising), first place mini award in role play 2

Amy Sennert - (Full Service Restaurant Management), third place mini award in exam

* Alex Crippin - (Vehicle Petroleum Marketing), third place mini award in role play 1, 2nd place finalist

Andrew Patton - (Vehicle Petroleum Marketing), sixth/seventh place finalist

Hillery Reinert - (Quick Serve Restaurant Management), sixth/seventh place finalist

* Nancy Manatham - (Financial Services Management Team Decision), second place finalist

* Som Sriboonreuang - (Financial Services Management Team Decision), second place finalist, second place finish in state marketing terms test, third place finish in state marketing concept test

Travis Wendt - sixth/seventh place finish in state math test

* Brett Miller - first place finish in economic commerce test

District results

On January 26, the DECA students competed at the district level. Storm Lake hosted the event as Aurelia's Dillon Dunn is the District 2 vice president.

School participating in the district competition (with approximately 125 students) include: Ames, Aurelia, Fort Dodge, Southeast Webster, Hampton-Dumont and Storm Lake

The following Storm Lake business people volunteered their time to judge:

Sue Fitzpatrick

Tom Fitzpatrick, Fitzpatricks

Brian Baumhover, Fareway

Steve Berg, Berg Jewelry

Mike Porsch, Ressler Drug

Craig Sargent, Omni Photo

Kari Stuckel, Thompson Assoc.

Bob Hogrefe, Lakeshore Cafe

Jim Carney, HyVee

Chris Sitzmann, Taco John's

The Storm Lake DECA team finished in first place overall and the traveling trophy returned to the trophy case at SLHS! The results included:

Apparel and Accessories - fourth place - Lindsey Dreher; fifth place - Phouang Siharath

Retail Merchandising Management -first place - Matt Speers

Full Service Restaurant Management - first place - Amy Sennert; second place - Som Sriboonreuang; third place - Stephanie Shadlow; fifth place - Todd Utter

Food Marketing - second place tie - Cory Haisch; second place tie - Jacob Frederick

Vehicle and Petroleum Marketing - second place - Andrew Patton; fifth place - Alex Crippin

Quick Service Restaurant Management- first place - Nancy Manatham; seconnd place - Matt Semprini; fourth place - Jaime Quintanilla

Aurelia will be taking two students to the national competition. Jana Radke will compete in Apparel and Acessories Marketing and Dillon Dunn, who has cserved as DECA's state vice president, will attend the senior management institute (for seniors only.)

Dunn was also selected to be honored at the Iowa CTSO Student Recognition Ceremony on Thursday, March 17 at the Iowa Historical Building. He did an outstanding job representing IOWA DECA. He was also recognized by the Iowa Department of Education-Iowa Association for Career and Technical Education. He will represent Iowa at a meeting in Washington, D.C. later this year and have the opportunity to meet with legislators.

Aurelia students receiving mini-awards (for placing first, second or third in their individual event) at the state competition were:

Jon Hultgren - third place in the test (Sixth overall in Apparel and Accessories Marketing.)

Joe Hultgren - second place in the test and first place on a role play (Fifth overall)

Jana Radke - second place on the test (Second overall)

Shana Kai - third place on a role play

Dillon Dunn -first place on the test (Third overall)

Lana DeStigter - (Seventh overall)

Joe and Jon Hultgren also received recognition for earning the top scores for the state tests.

Awards Aurelia students received at the district competition:

Aurelia got second place overall honors overall as a team during the district competition; ther were 22 students from Aurelia participating.

District DECA 2005 -- Aurelia

Lana DeStiger - first place (Food Marketing)

Dillon Dunn - First place (Vehicles and Petroleum Marketing)

Jana Radke - Second place (Apparel & Accessories Marketing)

Kristine Munden - Third place (Apparel and Accessories Marketing)

Tim Fordyce - Third place (Vehicles & Petroleum Marketing)

Joe Hultgren - Fifth place (Food Marketing)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: