[Masthead] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Four Alta grapplers bring home NW Conf. titles

Tuesday, January 18, 2005

Graettinger-Terril emerged the team champion here Saturday at the Northwest Conference Wrestling Tournament, edging second-place Twin River Valley by just five points.

G-T finished with 216 points to 211 for Twin River Valley. Alta was third with 196.5 points, followed by Schaller-Crestland (152), Sioux Central (126.5). the JV All-Stars (107.5) and Pomeroy-Palmer (70).

Alta had a fine day on its home mats, as four Cyclone wrestlers won conference championships.

Alta's Jacob Rehnstrom won the individual title at 112 pounds, while at 125, teammate Brandon Piercy won his weight division. At 135, Alta's Anand Hase was the champ, and at 160, Cory Diischer was the title winner.

Also for Alta, Scott Launderville was third at 130, Joey Kelm second at 145, Tyler Van Houten was fifth at 152 and Morgan Van Houten fourth at 215.

Schaller-Crestland had one individual champion, as Michael Weber won the 275 pound title.

Also for the Wildcats, Cory Naberhaus was second at 125, Mark McDonough second at 130, Matt Tielbur second at 140, Jeremy Robley second at 160 and Tory Johannsen third at 215.

Schaller-Crestland's Nick Tielbur was fourth at 145, Nathan Petersen third at 152, Daniel Bloyer fifth at 171 and Rick Huseman fifth at 189.

Two Sioux Central wrestlers took second places in their weight classes. At 119, Morgan Terveer took second, while at 189, Justin Shideler took second.

Rebel wrestler Nick Skog was third in the 171 pound weight class, while Marshall Wernimont was third at 125. Also for Sioux Central, Antonio Bandomo was fifth at 112, Tyler Herrig was fourth at 130, Jayden Kracht fourth at 135, Connor Lindquist fifth at 140, Josh Duffney fifth at 145, and Dustin Jurries fourth at 160.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: