Education Briefs

Tuesday, November 2, 2004

SL music students selected for All-State

District auditions for the 279-piece All-State Band, All-State Orchestra, and 600-piece All-State Chorus were held Saturday, Oct. 23 at Storm Lake, Hampton, Oelwein, Atlantic, Indianola, and Washington.

Approximately 17 percent of the students who audition are selected for membership in the All-State ensembles. Gaining membership is one of the highest individual honors available to Iowa high-school musicians.

Storm Lake High School students selected for the All-State Festival are:

Chorus: Ella Fikkert, soprano, daughter of DiAnne and Mark Fikkert; Ashley Wolf, soprano, daughter of Maribeth and Keith Wolf; Stephanie Rude, alto, daughter of Joan and Ed Rude; Katelyn Croker, alto, daughter of Kathy and Brent Croker; Lindsay Guenther, alto, daughter of Echo and Ben Guenther; Morgan Rauch, alto, daughter of Jane and Chuck Rauch; Jeff Buckingham, tenor, son of Kathi and Al Buckingham; Juvenal Soria, tenor, son of Maria and Juvenal Soria; Collin Schultz, tenor, son of Shari and Mark Schultz; Dustin Smith, bass, son of Cindy and Kent Smith; Jacob Lyon, tenor second alternate, son of Cheryl and Craig Lyon.

Band: Ben Wells, percussion, son of Mike and Barb Wells; Marjorie Halvorson, clarinet, daughter of Bard and Marion Johnson; Matt Hoskins, percussion, son of Claudia and Frank Hoskins.

All-state participants will rehearse in Ames on Friday and Saturday, Nov. 19-20, and the Festival Concert will be presented to the public at 7:30 p.m. in Hilton Coliseum, Iowa State University, Ames, Saturday evening, Nov. 20. This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association. Ticket information is available from any of the high-school music directors.

The value of the All-State Festival is not determined by the concert that is presented. The self-discipline, emotional control, time-budgeting, and focus that a student learns from the process of preparation will last long after All-State. The musicianship attained from the preparation has taken each student's given talent and turned it into actual ability. Each student that has prepared for All-State makes his or her high-school ensemble sound better and students become models for the other students to observe. Although they were not selected, these Storm Lake High Schools students are also recognized for their effort: Nate Tucker, Nick Crippen, Elizabeth Hixon, Ali Kofhmel, Tessa Winterton, Eva Morales, Sarah Larson, Emily Gutz, Lucas Dreossler, Jennifer Yanez, Kayla Christ, Andy Storm, Jacob Lyon, Ross Schultz, Patrick Kelly, Abby Diehl, Lindsey Hoeppner, Angie Schmidt, Matt Bowman, Adrian Dimas, Clare Cullen, Tyler Reinert, Michael Schulz, Joe Cullen, and Maya Peterson.

"Great appreciation is also felt for all the students and adults that helped run the festival here at Storm Lake," the music staff said. " A great number of favorable comments were received from participating schools and even the judges were very pleased. It takes all of us to make it happen."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: