[Masthead] Overcast ~ 41°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

BVR Banquet honors drivers for a successful season

Monday, January 22, 2001

The annual Buena Vista Raceway awards banquet was held Saturday night at the Knights of Columbus Hall in Storm Lake.

Track promoters Buzz Patterson and Lori Kline, along with announcer Curtis Sawyer presided over festivities.

The awards presentation honored those drivers in the Coca Cola Cruisers, Fitzpatrick Auto Center sponsored IMCA Hobby Stocks, Arnold Motor Supply IMCA Stock Car division and the Larson Oil/Energy Transport/One Stop Shop IMCA Modifieds. Rookie of the Year honors, Most Popular Driver, Best Appearing Car, Crew Chief of the Year and the top drivers in each division were announced.

The year in review at BVR saw many exciting Wednesday nights of racing action. There were many different winners in each division throughout the season and fans were treated to some exciting finishes in each class.

The ever-popular cruiser class saw 10 different feature winners in 18 nights of racing. In the 20 nights of action in the stock car division, 10 different drivers made it to victory lane. There were eight different winners who took the checkered flag first in the stock car class and six different winners in the modified division in the 20 feature events during the season.

Read the rest of this article in the 1/18 Pilot Tribune.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: