[Masthead] ~ 66°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 42°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Hinkeldey, Aurelia's Nelson finish strong at G-H

Tuesday, September 14, 2004

Sioux Central's Robyn Daly and Alta sophomore Dee Hinkeldey were the top area runners in the Class B varsity girls race here Saturday at the annual Galva-Holstein Classic cross country meet.

Daly medaled by finishing the 4-kilometer course in 11th place with a time of 16 minutes, 19.68 seconds. Hinkeldey, who set five records for the Cyclone girls track team as a freshman last spring, took 28th Saturday in 16:39.02. Galva-Holstein's Madeline McAreavy was also a top finisher, taking 23rd in 16:33.83.

Among area teams, Galva Holstein was the only area school that entered enough runners for a team score. The Pirates finished seventh in the nine-team race with 219 points.

West Sioux won the girls varsity B team competition with 45 points, followed by LeMars Gehlen Catholic with 119 and South O'Brien with 125 points.

Carly Olsen of Logan-Magnolia was the individual winner, finishing in 14:39.93. She was followed by Kingsley-Pierson's Katie Engle (15:13.27), West Sioux's Brittney Fischer (15:28.94), Woodbine's Alexia Dunlop (15:43.08) and Logan Magnolia's Kelli Kersten (15:50.83).

Wendy Nelson of Aurelia also had a fine race, taking 36th out of 83 runners in 17:20.41.

Meanwhile, other runners for Alta, their times and places, were: Katie Connolly, 43rd in 17:37.98; Brianna Aube, 48th in 17:58.90, and Lakin Stevicks, 79th in 23:09.85.

Two other Sioux Central runners competed in the Class B varsity girls race, as Nicole Lindquist was 46th in 17:51.97 and Lani Powers, 55th in 18:10.29.

For Aurelia, Renae Hinkeldey was 82nd in 26:07.83 and Amanda Nelson 83rd in 32:07.00.

Galva-Holstein got a 34th place finish from Hanna Rollefson in 17:09.45, while teammate Sarah Lichter was 47th in 17:55.24.

Other Pirate runners, their places and times, were: Megan Paulsen, 57th in 18:20.12; Erin Galvin, 58th in 18:22.49, and Amanda Kistenmacher, 65th in 18:38.89.

Kari Fredricks led Laurens-Marathon with a 49th place finish in 10:01.63, while Krista Fredricks was 77th in 22:44.45.

Sioux City North took top honors in the Class A girls varsity race with 65 points, followed by Denison-Schleswig (96), Bishop-Heelan (103), MOC-Floyd Valley (155) and Cherokee (161).

Seirra McCauley of Bishop Heelan took top individual honors in 14:24.00, followed by Sioux City North's Sarah Nelson (14:36.65), Cherokee's Kara Nelson (14:42.24), Denison-Schleswig's Sara Slater (15:06.02) and Sergeant Bluff-Luton's Jessica Grabonski (15:11.76).

Sioux City North also won the girls JV race, finishing with near-perfect score of 19 points. Veronica Limone of Sioux City North was the JV individual winner in 16:11.07.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: